May LLTL Photo Contest – Dan Baumbach

Dan Baumbach sends in one of his first succesful 4×5 view camera images for consideration in the LLTL contest, here is what he says:

This photo is called Wildflowers, Fog and Cypresses. It was taken in the Spring of 2003.  It was shot on 4×5 Velvia with a Shen-Hao camera and 75mm Nikkor lens.  I’d only been shooting large format for about a month and the jury was still out whether I’d continue with it when I had one of those mornings.  Everywhere I looked beautiful photographs presented themselves.  It was the images that I took that morning, three which are still part of my portfolio, that convinced me that I could capture the images that I wanted with a large format camera.

©Dan Baumbach

©Dan Baumbach

For more proof that Dan made a great decision sticking with 4×5 and film, be sure to visit his website for lots of inspirational images!

One Response to “May LLTL Photo Contest – Dan Baumbach”

  1. Hi dan,
    It remains my favorite too. I have always enjoyed looking at them.

Leave a comment