Photographer of the Month – May 2009

A few months ago I thought I had a brilliant idea. I walk my dog, Brando, three times a day and it finally dawned on me that if I took a camera on our walks I could capture those little things I usually notice on my walks. So I started taking my Canon G9 with me and gave myself a project called “Walks with Brando”. I have already made a couple of really nice photos and am excited by the idea. I was feeling pretty clever!

Well… then I stumbled upon the photoblog of Diane Varner and guess what? She has been doing a Daily Walk  with her dog Boomer and posting the resulting pictures on her blog since 2005!  And the photos are not just happy snaps but top tier work that showcase the mystical, the quiet, the intimate and the openness of her surroundings. Few photographers I know of have created such an amazingly diverse body of work from their local surroundings. Closeups of insects, intimate moments in the lives of people and animals, graphic details in small scenes, to robust and dramatic grand landscapes; Diane can capture it all in her evocative style!

Besides being talented behind the camera, Diane is adept at Photoshop which she uses to accent the beauty of her sensitive in-camera captures. And for you guys who think it is all about gear, Diane’s arsenal consists of a Canon 30d,  and 17-40 F4L, 70-200 f4L and a 100mm macro lens. Just goes to show once again that what you need for fantastic photography is an eye and motivation… not expensive gear.

Bookmark Diane’s blog and be surprised and moved by her new additions each week. Diane please give Boomer a pat from all your fans and thanks him for inspiring you with a daily walk!

©Diane Varner

©Diane Varner

3 Responses to “Photographer of the Month – May 2009”

  1. I have been a fan of yours for a long time, but just discovered your blog today. And I have been a fan of Diane’s for several years. How neat to come here and see you talking about Diane; and with one of my favorite images of hers too.

  2. Yup, I’d been a big fan of Diane’s for years as well and was blown away by the images she was able to capture with just her Rebel XT and her 2 prime lenses (50mm f/1.4 and 100mm f/2.8 macro) prior to her newer acquisitions.

    Every time I think of buying a new piece of equipment, I take a look through her images, then ask myself if I really deserve or need it. More often than not, the answer is no. Her images have always managed to inspire me and have kept me humble.

    Great pick for Photographer of the Month.

  3. I have been following Diane’s blog for a while. She has amazing work. Award is definitely deserved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 955 other followers

