Weekly Photo

I almost missed adding a new photo this week because I was away on my Spring Rockies Photo Tour. We had great light, great weather and a wonderful group of photographers. I have more to report on this shortly but to end the week here is a photo from my trip to Dinosaur Provincial Park in Alberta in mid May. Rather than concentrate on the hoodoos which I have shot there numerous times, I worked the trees along the river. Here is an image I captured at dusk right at the end of the shoot. It surprised me by how it turned out. I added a slight Orton effect to the image to enhance the dream-like feeling already present in the photo. This image has really grown on me in the few weeks since I created it. It will be interesting to know if it resonates beyond my eyes. Drop a comment below and let me know if this works or not for you as a viewer (click on the photo to see a larger version). Watch for the results of the May contest, new guest columns coming up and a few rants I feel coming on! Darwin

┬ęDarwin Wiggett

┬ęDarwin Wiggett

2 Responses to “Weekly Photo”

  1. I love the effect and the colors. Very dream like. I find I don’t know where my eye should look. Can’t decide if that’s a good thing or not.

  2. Yes, evanescent. The lower contrast and color mottling is very attractive. works well with the tree branch patterns. I love several of your ‘pattern view’ pictures (typically macro pictures or close to), such as the leaf in ice, etc.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 954 other followers

