The Weekly Photo – June 11

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon EOS-1ds, 17mm TS-E lens

I love wide angle lenses but often even my widest lens (17mm on full frame) isn’t wide enough! At the Spring Rockies Photo Tour we had this amazing sky one morning and from horizon to high above our heads the clouds were full of lines.and texture. I wanted to capture all that sky plus a foreground. This is where my Canon 17mm Tilt-Shift lens came to the rescue. If you look at the set of images below you can see that I took four horizontal images to make this one ultra wide vertical photo. First, I took the third image in the series below. Here I had the camera back level to the horizon so the trees did not distort. Then I took the fourth image by shifting the lens down to see the foreground. Then I took the second image with the lens shifted up to see the sky. Finally I swung the camera and lens up and shot the first image to get the clouds directly above me. For each shot I took three exposures and then blended them as an HDR using Exposure Fusion in Photomatix. I used Photoshop CS5‘s “Photo Merge” to stitch the 4 HDR images together into one big vertical image (final file size is 18 by 30 inches at 300 ppi). In the end I have a big file that can be printed huge and that has correct perspective but that takes in nearly 180 degree angle of view.

©Darwin Wiggett - component parts

23 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – June 11”

  1. ***Drool****

    Simply amazing shot Darwin. Thanks for showing how it was done. I love how you are so freely open to it compared to other pros I have seen.

  2. Hi Darwin,

    Indeed amazing shot. Did you focus at infinity for all shots or somehow different?
    I assume for the foreground shot you focused 1/3rd of the way.
    I’m thinking you have to move pretty quick between shots.

    I can imagine how this one would look printed :-)
    Florin

  3. Amazing sky Darwin.
    Doing exactly what I hope to achieve with the ts lenses.
    Did you have to change the tilt/focus for the top image?

  4. Stephane Says:

    Amazing picture. I wonder if you whould have been able to do it without hdr, just using some filters?

  5. Impressive result, Darwin. I love it!

  6. Fantastic shot(s) Darwin! Thanks for yet another great (and simple) tutorial.

  7. Darwin, was this shot with your 1Ds Mark III? Just asking, because it says 1Ds under the photo. That 17mm TS-E must be a wonderful lens to have. When I first saw it, I was kind of disappointed that you can’t put filters on it, but I guess we don’t need those expensive Singh-Ray grad ND filters anymore when we can use HDR.

    • Yes, Mark III. I still use flters when I can because it saves work behind the computer. IF I could have filtered the 17mm I would nothave needed to do an HDR

      Darwin

  8. A lot of work but with amazing results!

  9. Awesome image Darwin! Those cloud formations are fantastic, I just can’t stop looking at them! Also, thanks for the quick TS-E lesson. I’ve been interested in trying Nikon’s PC lenses for a while..I may have to rent one pretty soon! Cheers.

    JL

  10. Darwin,

    It looks polarized as I can see the pond bottom. Is there some secret you are not sharing about a beta version of the foot wide Singh Ray Polarizer with a special apparatus to mount the thing from the side of the lens? I’ve tried holding a 77mm polarizer in front of my 17 TS-E and taking two exposures per frame (with polarizer covering the top and then bottom of the frame) and combining them. Not so good…

    Scott

    • Hi Scott, no this shot is not polarized, the water is only 2 inches deep so that is why you can see down to the bottom. And please do not tell anyone about the new Singh-Ray flex wrap, polarizing, color enhancing, shiftable grad with 12 stops of dial-in density, filter anything filter. It is a secret.

      Darwin

  11. Hi Darwin,
    Stunning photograph!!
    Well done.
    Jan

  12. Hey Darwin, stellar shot. Been coming back to it daily. I’m getting my butt kicked doing panoramic shots and stitching them together. I can’t afford Photoshop, so what would you recommend for another good stitch program (I currently use the Cannon Utilities Version). Also what is the most important thing to consider when setting up a multiple shot? Level? Exposure? (I always tend to have one or two shots that never are exposed properly even when on Av).

    Loaded question, how much do I owe you? lol

    • I have only ever used Photoshop so I can not comment on other programs but The Canon Stitch thing should work.

      The most important factors are to have all frames exposed exactly the same, I use manual setting of shutter speed and aperture to ensure all frames are exposed at the same settings. Also make sure you have at least 25% overlap between frames. Darwin

  13. Microsoft has a free not for commercial use pano program called ICE
    here’s the url for it

    http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/groups/ivm/ICE/

    Evan Spellman

  14. Hi Darwin,
    I have recently purchased 3 of your booklets. Coming from from Europe I needed some info on Banf and Jasper. Your booklets were of great help. I my search of sharp landscape pictures I even bought a shift and tilt lens since they are much cheaper in Canada than in Europe. I have a question concerning combining panorama and HDR. Should i first do the HDR and then stich or the other way around?

    Erwin

  15. Darwin,

    I am interested in getting a 17mm TS-E Lens but have been hesitent because I want to be able to use a polarizer and GND filters with it. In the images above what filters did you use? Are you able to use a Polarizer on it? Are you able to use GND Filters? If so, what size and how?

    Any help and guidance would be appreciated.

    Thanks, Chris

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 964 other followers

