Fabulous Film Fridays – April 1, 2011

One of the experiences I miss the most with digital is the glory of looking at a freshly processed roll of slide film on the light table. I love how the film glows on the light box and how the colours pop. Grabbing a loupe and magnifying the individual slide is like crossing over into another world — it’s magical and I never tire of the experience. I have not shot 35mm Fujichrome Velvia Slide film for a number of years and so I grabbed my Canon EOS-1n and a roll of Velvia and played with some dead roses in the ‘studio’ (read kitchen table with window light). Here is a little section of my 36-exposure roll of film. For the top photo I shone a flashlight onto the rose while making the image. Velvia has lots of contrast so I figured I better add some light to that dark red area. The bottom photo shows how the rose looks on film without the addition of the flashlight as fill.

 

©Darwin Wiggett

5 Responses to “Fabulous Film Fridays – April 1, 2011”

  1. [...] is hosting the Fabulous Film Fridays images over at his blog today on this inauspicious date.  Head over there to see that his images are no [...]

  2. Hmmm, I can decide which one is the best; all of them have a different character. I am wondering if the flash light came form the top of the EOS 1n or side light.

    I scanned Kodachrome film months ago, and I felt I should’ve shot with Kodachrome more. Now it is too late. I do remember creative process used to start from the selection of film. Nowadays we do not have this FUN dilemma. Lexar or Sundisk does not make any differences.

  3. Neat! I’m sure there are alot of ‘youngin’s’ looking at this and wondering what the heck ‘film’ is…

  4. Mike Ferron Says:

    1st and 3rd are my favorites. I’m always a sucker for keeping all the elements within the frame. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 954 other followers

