The Weekly Photo – July 4, 2011

The image below was taken on the Spring Photo Tour in the Canadian Rockies – this is of Abraham Lake from Windy point with a rain storm over Kiska Peak. I used a Canon 24mm TS-E lens tilted to give max apparent DOF. Lately I have been processing my colour images with the B+W conversion program Nik Silver Efex Pro 2. First I process the RAW image the way I want it to look in Camera RAW using Photoshop CS-5 (see original image in this post). Then I convert the image to a pleasing B+W using Silver Efex watching carefully to get the tones in the image exactly the way I want them. I layer the original processed colour image over the converted Silver Efex B+W image in Photoshop and then change the blending mode of the colour layer to “Color”. The result is an image with the contrast of the processed B+W but with the colours of the original file. Remember you can get 15% off of Silver Efex using my name for the discount code at checkout  – darwin (not darren!). In a future post I will have a step-by-step ‘recipe’ of how to make funky colour images using Silver Efex Pro 2. Of course, some people will prefer the original, some will like the conversion – but knowing how to use the tools given to you, you’ll be able to produce images that please your eye (and in the end that is all that matters).

©Darwin Wiggett - Silver Efex Pro 2 conversion

©Darwin Wiggett - original colour image

14 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – July 4, 2011”

  1. Tim Ball Says:

    What a difference to contrast and detail this process has made!
    I far prefer the Silver efex image

  2. Now is that what we now can coin to the photography industry as the “Wiggett Effect”? I have love using the Orton effect you have shown me so I think this example you have shown is a keeper!

  3. Martha J Says:

    Wow my friend, thank you for the info. Great pictures… Nice the difference….

  4. Darwin; really neat technique! I have been working recently on different blending modes for my landscape work using B+W Soft Light and Luminosity Modes. I really like this effect and love the contrast boost and clarity. Looks like more stuff to occupy me on my images and blog.
    Bob

  5. I certainly like your results using this blending technique.

    I’ve tried it before, but prefer to get the same/similar results using Nik’s Viveza and Color Efex Pro diretly on the color image. As ususal, there are lots of different ways to get to the same endpoint. Going the Silver Efex Pro route may be easier if there is a preset that already has done most of the work for you.

  6. Hi Darwin,

    I read your blog every day and cant help but be amazed at the coincidence and timing of your sharing of this technique. Just last week I began to experiment by processing a color image the way I wanted, then made another layer and in CS5 using the HDR toning – monochromatic artistic, and tweaking that to my liking. I had to do this in two separate work spaces as CS5’s HDR toning flattens the image (c’mon Adobe, get with the times). Then I blended the layers in color mode as well.
    Have a look:

  7. Wow, that’s an awesome technique. You just keep on teaching me new stuff.

    Thanks Darren!

  8. I’ve been using the same technique (using SEP 1) for quite a while. Works like a charm! Now if only SEP 2 would run on my machine. Onward…

  9. Great tip, Darren! (just kidding). Love the shot and looking forward to trying this out myself.

  10. Sounds like a really cool technique. I’m definitely going to have to try it out and see if it works for me. Thanks for sharing!

  11. […] The Weekly Photo – July 4, 2011 (darwinwiggett.wordpress.com) […]

  12. Thanks for sharing the technique! Will try it later!

Leave a comment