The Daily Snap – Feb 8

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

I love the macro mode of the Canon G11. This leaf is about the size of my palm and was strongly backlit. I grabbed the G11, switched to macro mode and within seconds had a wonderful detailed macro. Try that with a dSLR!

6 Responses to “The Daily Snap – Feb 8”

  1. Cool pic, love the “stained glass” light.

    I always use my G7 for macro work like this. Difficult to beat for ease and convenience.

  2. Very nice photo Darwin… again goes to show that the eye of the photographer is more important than the equipment…

    I have my 6 year old Canon G3 that I use to do macro too.. G3 was the one where they had a F2.0 lens which works awesome… I wish it had IS on it but it does not. After looking at your pictures from G11, it is making me think about getting the G11. Thanks for sharing and keep posting images to inspire us…🙂

  3. Nice! I really like the glow of the veins in the leaf.

  4. What an awesome shot! I love all those tiny little veins in the leaf. That G11 must be a great little camera.

  5. I love backlit leaves! I did a few recently:

    http://milkayphoto.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/you-give-me-fever/
    http://milkayphoto.wordpress.com/2010/01/07/a-little-stir-crazy/

    Great work all around. I will be following your journey!

    Tracy

  6. Gorgeous. It sure looks like stained glass with the backlighting and veins of the leaf.

Leave a Reply

