The Daily Snap – Feb 18

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

During the photo tour we came upon some sheets of ice about the thickness of window glass that were thrust up from the shore. I tried to get my dSLR under the ice to shoot the ice patterns against the sky. The problem was I could not get my face up to the viewfinder or even attach a right-angle viewfinder to the eyepiece to make a composition. So I grabbed my G11 and used the tilt-swivel screen to easily view what I was doing. I love the G11 (or any camera with a tilt-swivel screen) to get these wonky low angle shots. I could not decide if I liked the overall view of the ice or the close-up of the windshield-like rock bruise better. Which do you like better?

5 Responses to “The Daily Snap – Feb 18”

  1. Hmmm, that’s like asking which pet I like better. I love the strength and architecture of the first image. (Did it look nice in color, too?) The close-up image sort of looks like a scene on a cave wall (isn’t it amazing how the human mind always tries to form things in abstractions??) Sooo, I guess, I like them both!

  2. John Arnold Says:

    Me too. I like them both. The first one reminds me of some type of timeless obelisk jutting into the sky and the second one of calligraphy. Both of them are definitely more abstract than literal to me. Especially #2. But I guess if I had to choose, #1 is my favorite.

  3. I like them both, but having to choose, I choose #1. The smoothness of the ice and the stark contrast of the edges of the ice against the sky.

  4. I would have to say I like the first one the best. It is a very unique image and has that different look to it. It’s the one I would remember of the two.

  5. I saw this early this morning and the first thing I thought of with the second photo is that is looks just as milkayphoto said…”scene on a cave wall”. You can almost hear the chanting songs and see the dance around the central fire…

    The second one has my vote.

    Kevin

Leave a Reply

