The Daily Snap – Feb 23

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

 

While I was playing around with a crack in a vertical piece of ice (see the photo below) one of the workshop participants walked into my frame. Instantly my photo became like a funhouse mirror with the ice distorting the body of the photographer. What fun, I took dozens of photos of the photographer through the ice and this is the one I liked best.

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

6 Responses to “The Daily Snap – Feb 23”

  1. How easy it is to miss details like this. You inspire all those around you to ‘open their eyes’ again, for the first time. We would normally not see the trees for the forest.

    Great example of even more photo opps right in front of us.

  2. kurtbudliger Says:

    Awesome, well seen. I really like the original comp (bottom shot) as well, beautiful tones and lines.

    http://www.vermontphotographer.wordpress.com

  3. So it looks like all the cool ice is waaaay up in Canada which explains why I am not finding any of it here in the Northeast US! Funny, how some might have viewed the participant walking into your frame as an annoyance. You saw the potential. Personally, I like the concept and jsut would have preferred not to also have the camera/tripod in the shot. Would have made it more universal. But overall, well done.

  4. I am here at your blog 3-4 times a week. Your winter snaps are amazing to say the least. I live in Manila, Philippines and through your photographs I experience winter art. One day, I must attend your workshops… wishful thinking…

  5. Did you use a tripod when taking the picture?

Leave a Reply

