The Canadian Landscape Contest – Holly Abidi

Holly Abidi

©Holly Abidi

This photo was taken in Canada at Banff National Park driving from Calgary. The scenery is breathtaking and as you’re driving along you see so many neat spots to take pictures. This was my first visit so my mouth was wide open the whole time and my heart was beating. I was bursting with excitement, I couldn’t take the lens cap off fast enough. The first thing I noticed when I got out of the car was how fresh the air was. Add that to this scene. In this picture you feel as if you’re there with the river winding in the distance, a pristine blue sweeping you away off into the scene, and capturing you with its beauty. This is one reason why it’s my favorite and one of my best photos. The details of the different native grasses and shrubs with their reddish tips adds a wild spacial element, claiming that this is nature’s field. And as you look at this picture you feel a sense of awe, but also deep appreciation and gratitude to have been able to stand at that very place, just once in your life and breath and take it all in. 

4 Responses to “The Canadian Landscape Contest – Holly Abidi”

  1. Another stunning shot of the mountains. What time of year was this photo taken and were there any filters used?

    sue

  2. Hi Sue,

    I’m glad you liked my photo. No I didn’t use any filters. This was in August I think, I know it was in the summer. It was gorgeous out. If you can or do get the chance it’s a great place to tour and of course snap photos.

    Holly

    • Great photo Holly!

      I am a painter and in need of images of the Calgary – Banff area.

      Are you interesting in leasing or trading?

      Respectfully, Leon Parson

      • Hi Leon Parson,

        I’m flattered you like my photo and would want to paint it. If you’d like to buy exclusive and full rights to the photograph let me know. You can e-mail me directly to discuss the details at cougarcat_ca@yahoo.com. If you are interested in my work and like my lens perspective I would be happy to pursue some further photography for you to work with in Banff and potentially other places. I look forward to your reply.

        Kindest Regards,
        Holly

Leave a Reply

