The Canadian Landscape Contest – Lydia Dotto

Lydia Dotto

©Lydia Dotto

 

This picture was taken in Jasper National Park along Highway 16. It had been raining for several days and my mother, who was travelling with me, was tired of hearing me complain about it. One day, the weather cleared enough that I decided to set out along the highway from Hinton. As we approached Jasper, we ran into rain again and turned back. About 10 minutes later, I spotted a male elk grazing beside the road. I got out and shot pictures for about 20 minutes. As I was heading back to the car, I saw my mother motioning to me to turn around. This was the scene that greeted me — the elk meandering down the grassy verge against a backdrop of water, mountains, storm clouds and a magnificent double rainbow. The light was fading fast but I managed to get several good shots. When I got back into the car, my mother said: “Are you satisfied now?”

11 Responses to “The Canadian Landscape Contest – Lydia Dotto”

  1. What a fantastic oppurtunity, that you captured so well. This shot may be a one in a lifetime event. Fantastic.

    Al Wagner

  2. That is one of THE most beautiful photos I’ve ever seen!

  3. Unbelievably MAGICAL! Thank goodness for your mother as this is one of those ‘once in a lifetime’ kind of shots!

  4. Lori Jezowski Says:

    There is something to be said about the old saying “in the right spot at the right time.” Beautiful!

    • Lori: There was something almost fated about how I arrived at that spot at that time. The whole day involved a series of go-no-go decisions — whether to go out at all, how far to go before turning back etc. What I didn’t mention was that the early part of the trip was interrupted when I found a herd of bighorn sheep along the highway and spent about an hour shooting them. If that hadn’t happened, I wouldn’t have been in “the right place at the right time” for this shot.

  5. One of the better photographs I have seen on Darwin’s Blog, well done.

    David

  6. Simply stunning!

  7. Gotta love your Mom! I can so hear my mother saying the same thing. Absolutely magical, Lydia.

  8. Lori Jezowski Says:

    Hahaha Lydia, you and I sound a lot alike, my Aunt and I both enjoy photography. Going for drives in the early morning hours, armed with our camera equipment, which I might add usually turn into “day trips.” We also have days like that… which way should we go, how far should we go etc. Needless to say we have covered a whole lot of back roads in Northern and Central Alberta. Last year we both invested in GPS’s….lol it helps when we get a little to far into the unknown and then we can even find our way back to a favorite spot! Gotta love it, just pack a lunch and go… 😉

  9. THis is incredible!! WOW

  10. absolutely beautiful!
    I have had to come back about a dozen times now, just to look at this photo!

Leave a Reply

