The Daily Snap – April 8

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G9

This one was taken a couple of years ago in spring. It was the first time I tried the built in ND filter in the G9 to make long exposures (this one was 15 seconds at f7.1) and the long exposure really showed the movement in the grasses due to the wind. With the Canon G11, I am constantly making long exposures using both the built-in ND filter and also using my Singh-Ray P-sized 5-stop ND filter. In a place like Cochrane that is often windy, the long exposures give me a painterly look that I enjoy a lot.

5 Responses to “The Daily Snap – April 8”

  1. Lovely shot and thanks for the tips! It’s great that you are willing to share.

  2. Another amazing shot, Darwin. The cool and warm tones play nicely off each otheran I do like the hint of grass movement in contrast with the rigidness of the fence. Well done.

  3. I really like the feel of this photo. Beautiful🙂

  4. xinapray Says:

    Love the gorgeous movement, the rich warm tones and the strong diagonals. I, too, love painterly landscapes.

  5. It’s an amazing shot – I love the angle that you captured here!!

Leave a Reply

