The Daily Snap – May 16

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

Finally, warm weather, spring leaves, and some colour beyond brown. Thank you, I feel like I am emerging from hibernation. Now if only I could get all these deadlines out-of-the-way and get out of the office to take some photos! The tough part about making a living at photography is the time needed to market your work and sell your wares. Mostly I feel like a used car salesman rather than  a nature photographer. I have much less time to photograph now than ever before — the price of ‘success’. Hmmm.

9 Responses to “The Daily Snap – May 16”

  1. jackvjohnson Says:

    Wait, let me check… No, the needle on my Pity Meter isn’t even twitching…
    ;^D

    (I’ll try to remember to email you next time I feel more like a Computer Janitor than an IT Consultant so you can jab me back, just to be fair… :^D )

    – Jack

  2. I used to make my living shooting full time. I know exactly what you mean.

    Not shooting for a dozen years was the best thing that ever happened to my photography. And not shooting landscapes for twenty years even more so.

    It’s fresh, fun and something I look forward to doing just for myself. No deadlines. No editors. No assignments.

    The glamor jobs are only glamorous to those that haven’t done them for many years.

    Enjoy the coming summer.

  3. Glad to hear your getting some spring type weather. I hope you find time to get out as much as possible. I have always really liked shots like this they seem intimate and complex at the same time.

    How about a post in the future about: A week in the life of D.W. Nature Photographer. Or something like that. I find insights like this to be very helpful in learning the attitudes and personalities it takes to be a nature photographer. So many articles deal with the how-to’s and techniques of photography when I know there is way more than just being able to take good pictures to be successful.

    Just a thought, always get something from paying attention here anyway. Thanks Darwin.

  4. I have to agree…its so nice to have decent weather and some green on the trees. The unfortunate thing about Southern Alberta is how brown it is in that period between winter and late spring.

    As for the marketing and selling part? Well, if I had to choose between the non-creative aspects of photography and my current day job I’d prefer to do the “unfun” photography stuff. But I also understand that its not a given either. I mean I could get out and shoot on weekends and the occasional excursion and still enjoy photography.

    I guess we amateurs tend to romanticize the notion of being a pro photography and think of only the creative part without realizing that the photography is a relatively small part of the job.

  5. I just hope you get along well with your Boss!

  6. Used car salesman? Why that analogy? Anyways, I’m sure lots of people would love to be in your shoes. I guess being at the top of your game comes with a price but still, it’s great that you can still work in the field you love. Most of us have other jobs and would love to turn our passions into making a living in it. As the saying goes: love what you do and you never have to work again.😉

    • I know I should not complain… but I just rarely get to go out shooting anymore and that is why I got into photography in the first place… so I will see how I can get better balance of shooting and marketing… and by stopping complaining that’ll help😉 Thanks for giving me back some perspective!

      Darwin

      • jackvjohnson Says:

        I say go ahead and complain – it’s good for the soul! ;^D
        And despite my previous comment, I do empathize – I’m always amazed at what people think my self-employed life is like. Oh, if only it were so! :^D

        – Jack

  7. jackvjohnson Says:

    @johnfuji – I’m sure he does – Sam seems pretty laid back… ;^D

    – Jack “Mr. Wendy” Johnson

Leave a Reply

