The Daily Snap – May 25

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

Another snap from the Glacier Lake hike, this one of a shoreline tree blown down in high winds. I could not decide if I liked the colour version or the B+W version better so I am posting both here. What is your preference?

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

12 Responses to “The Daily Snap – May 25”

  1. Given the choice, I lean towards the B&W. The old branches stand out due to color contrast in the first version, but the image seems cleaner, crisper and more structural in B&W.

  2. I really like the black and white – gives it an “ancient” kind of quality…

  3. Dave Pattinson Says:

    I like the B&W one the best.

  4. BaLadiNe Says:

    B&W: the green foliage is too distracting for me in the color version.

  5. I would go with color. I just prefer color photos most of the time anyway. I like the green of the trees. In the black and white version, the scene seems too busy for the branches to really stand out.

  6. I like the black and white better, it’s more interesting to me and the black and white adds more drama which I like in photos.

  7. Natalya Pluzhnikov Says:

    The color picture is nice, but the black and white version reminded me engravings from an old book I admired in my childhood. Actually, there is something of a woodcut print in both of them, but the color picture looks more like a hand-painted version of the black and white.

  8. Both are good in their own ways, but I see in colour, and therefore the colour version has my vote.

  9. Just out of curiousity, how was the black and white conversion done? I’d be interested in seeing how this would look with a green filtered look? (i.e via channel mixer setting the green channel to 100 and blue and red to zero)

    • I used Silver Efex Pro for the conversion.

      I think a channel mixer version using the green channel might look awesome, I will have to try that – thanks for the hint!

      Darwin

  10. I like them both. For me the color speaks of life and death, the living and the dead. The B&W is all about lines and forms, shapes and angles. Indecisive as ever…
    BTW Nice Lake O’Hara shot in this month’s Outdoor Photographer!

  11. For me, the foreground and background don’t really add to the strong graphic nature of the middle ground. I like the B&W version but would suggest cropping top and bottom to produce an elongated format that is all about the rich middle ground tonal textures of the roots and the soil they hold. I’m a sucker for B&W :o)

Leave a Reply

