The Daily Snap – May 27

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

Another G11 snap from Glacier Lake. The one above was taken the last morning of the trip. It was very cloudy and we did not expect any sunrise so I played with my G11 making longer exposures in the dim light. The results were ok… but suddenly I saw a tiny faint orange glow on the peaks and I quickely set up my Canon 1ds Mark III with my 24mm TS-E lens. By the time I got everything ready (tilt for depth-of-field and  precise focus) the light was just starting to fade but I managed to squeeze off this one shot below which I am pretty happy about. Click on the photo to see a larger view.

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon EOS-1ds Mark III

8 Responses to “The Daily Snap – May 27”

  1. I personally really enjoy Mirror like Water Landscapes.
    looks Great !

  2. Franklin Wang Says:

    That orange light brings so much more depth to the scene, and I too really like the mirror like water.

  3. The warm light gives the photo a totally different feel. I really like the rock triangle in the foreground.

  4. Wow, really beautiful, both of the photos.

  5. I thought I was the only one that would wait for the warm light and scramble to get ready to use by real camera when the right light hit. I guess the pros do too😉

  6. Absolutely gorgeous – I can hardly wait to move back to Canada near the Rockies to begin yo capture images even half as good. Thanks for keeping my appetite whetted.

  7. This place looks really peaceful. Patient is the key to success… Beautiful shots!🙂

  8. Darwin, it seems like I get my best shots when I’m rushing to get to a spot at the last minute. The weather can play tricks on us a lot. Many times, I have thought that the sky was not going to produce anything good, then it would suddenly change and become one of the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen. You were lucky to get nice light on the mountains. There was probably just a small clearing in the clouds that allowed some light to hit the mountains just before dark. Beautiful photo.

Leave a Reply

