The Daily Snap – June 9

©Darwin Wiggett

Here is an overall landscape shot of Horseshoe Lake in Jasper National Park. Generally at this location I prefer to take intimate landscapes but I thought this scene was nice enough to do a big scenic. I took three exposures here (meter, +2, -2EV) and used Photomatix’s “Exposure Fusion” to make a realistic looking HDR.

7 Responses to “The Daily Snap – June 9”

  1. Joseph Lanza Says:

    Darwin,
    Nice shot. I’ve been trying to get a good “exposure fusion” from Photomatix for at least nine months. I have not gotten one that looks realistic. I usually do 5 shots (-2 stops, -1 stop, normal, +1 stop, +2 stops) and have tried exposure blending and several other methods. Could you explain how you processed this shot.

  2. Fusion is often so much nicer then tone mapping.

  3. Hey Darwin, this is a very nice HDR. I will have to try this more often. I normally use grad ND filters, but the filter doesn’t work in all situations. I wish people would understand the purpose of HDR a bit more. Most HDR images I see have strange colors and almost black and white sky, or look like cartoons. This is a fine example of HDR in which you were able to present the scene with nice foreground detail and proper exposure of the sky. It looks very natural and realistic. Well, of coarse. It’s a Wiggett photo!

  4. @Dennis, many, many natural looking photographs that you see are HDRs but the photographers don’t advertise that fact. Photomatix is very easy to use without getting the classic haloed look.

    Adobe and others only make the situation seem worse when they offer “HDR type” filters like the one in CS5 which emulate a poorly done tonemapped image.

    A good HDR in my mind is one that looks no different than a properly exposed, properly processed image. Just as bad as the overbaked HDRs are the photos that look otherworldly because of the heavily darkened skies with the use of filters. To view a well done HDR you would not know that it was processed that way.

  5. To Dan, That is my point exactly. A properly done HDR is one that is not “over cooked” with strange colors, halos, and a cartoon look. Darwin’s image looks perfectly natural and the exposure looks very close to what I would expect to see with the human. Dan, you mentioned that there are many images that look natural that are HDR and I could not tell that they are HDR. That is the point of post-processing work. Do it without leaving any evidence. Technically, most of the time, I know. It’s not about the “seeing” the evidence. For example, if Darwin wouldn’t have mentioned that his image is an HDR, I would have suspected it. If a grad ND filter would have been used to balance the exposure between sky and foreground, the filter would have also covered the tops of the trees, making them darker. In a case like this, there is no way to cover the sky without affecting the trees. I would think it’s more practical to use HDR. It’s a very nicely done HDR, but you suspect that it is HDR because of the exposure range that is presented in this situation.

  6. Darwin, can you please edit my comment and place the word “eye” after the word “human”? LOL

  7. Joseph Lanza Says:

    I will have to try the fusion process again. Maybe this time I can get a shot that doesn’t look like a cartoon.

Leave a Reply

