100% Reliable Flash Photography

Back in the ‘bad old days’ when I was shooting seriously for stock agencies  I had to learn to master flash photography not only for studio shots but also for outdoor and location portraiture. I learned the art of flash photography by reading books and mostly by practice, practice, practice… and then more practice (did I say I had to practice a lot?). I sure could have used a good resource that simplified the complex technical aspects of flash photography — if only to save processing costs on hundreds of rolls of film!

Fast forward to today and you can find all sorts of resources on the web about flash photography and specifically how to use your Nikon or Canon flashes to create professionally lit portraits anywhere. The problem is that I have not found one resource that covers everything you need to know from lighting theory to practical lighting set-ups in an easy to understand matter, until now. I really like Ed Verosky’s new e-Book 100% Reliable Flash Photography – How to Get Amazing Light in Any Situation. I especially appreciated Ed’s Standardization Principle where you get proven formulas to get results in any lighting situation. If you need to use flash in your photography (editorial, portrait, wedding, or  sports photography) then I suggest you pick up Ed’s e-Book ($9.95) . I am now using some of his 15 proven lighting techniques to help me get back up to speed with flash photography – even old dogs can learn new tricks!

Click here to order Ed’s Flash e-Book

©Darwin Wiggett - off camera fill flash

7 Responses to “100% Reliable Flash Photography”

  1. First off, awesome portrait! LOVE the glasses nad hat! Nice perspective, too.

    Thanks for the heads-up on the book! Sounds like exactly what I’ve been looking for. I don’t think I will ever be able to use the sentence “I’ve mastered flash.” I consider it my nemesis!😉

  2. Hi Darwin, I always loved this one and was always wondering about the lighting you used… did you use any diffusers on the flash? Looks too nice to be just direct…

  3. Great portrait!

    Seems to me it’s a bare flash/speedlite at camera right, judging by the shadow off the hat on his chest.

    However the highlighted lips makes me wonder where this second light is coming from. Maybe midday sun from above, like 90 degrees?

    Thanks for the tips!

  4. Lovely portrait, Darwin! Love the (huge) glasses, great look!

    Thanks for the info on the book, I put the link on my blog. 😀

Leave a Reply

