Travel Photo Contest – Slobodan Blagojevic

Slobodan Blagojevic

©Slobodan Blagojevic

While visiting a friend in Chicago, I noticed this view from his 19th-story balcony. I wanted to accentuate Chicago’s gritty and industrial side, thus the image underwent a rather heavy manipulation in post processing. I went for a certain “look & feel”, rather than reality, and I pushed certain Lightroom sliders way beyond their “comfort zone” until I got that look. “Cold blue steel” was the phrase that came to my mind when I was playing with sliders. Given the presence of a large orange (sunlit) area in the image, I needed its complementary color (blue) to balance it. On a psychological level (or psychobabble level, if you insist), presence of color, especially strong contrasting ones, indicates presence of life. And as much as I wanted that “gritty” and dark look, I did not want to go all the way to the “doom & gloom” one… after all, there is life in Chicago🙂 I rather wanted to accentuate the spirit-uplifting battle between life and death (decay), light and shadow, cold and warm (you know… the yin and yang stuff).

One Response to “Travel Photo Contest – Slobodan Blagojevic”

  1. Stephane Hachey Says:

    Good job with the contrast of colours. The Blue and orange really go well together, really like this image.

Leave a Reply

