Travel Photo Contest – Nonac Eos

Nonac Eos

©Nonac Eos

Ha Long Bay (Vietnam), in the Gulf of Tonkin, includes about 1,600 islands and islets, forming a spectacular seascape of limestone pillars. Because of their precipitous nature, most of the islands are uninhabited and unaffected by a human presence. The site’s outstanding scenic beauty is complemented by its great biological interest [UNESCO.org].

When I reached Ha Long Bay, after crossing Vietnam from south to north on the saddle of a battered Honda Wave, my expectations were really high. The beauty of the seascapes showed in my reliable guide were so extraordinary and rare that I couldn’t wait for the moment of extracting my camera and starting taking pictures!

Unfortunately my expectations had to face up to the fact that the light was so flat and greyish that everything appeared colorless and gloomy. I was resigning myself to the idea of not taking decent pictures that day, when the scene shown in the photograph above came up to my eyes. I was completely struck by its visual simplicity. So I effortlessly pointed my camera, framed and shot as soon as the small boat slowly reached the middle of the scene. I think that I saw and experienced the moment in a way I am not going to easily forget!

One Response to “Travel Photo Contest – Nonac Eos”

  1. Beautiful composition and exposure … well done!

Leave a Reply

