The Daily Snap – July 7

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

Yesterday evening we were working in the office during a heavy downpour. Suddenly the rain stopped and the sun popped out. I knew that when the sun is low on the horizon and there is water droplets in the air then these are perfect conditions for a rainbow. I looked out my front window and sure enough a big double rainbow coloured the sky over the neighbourhood. I grabbed the G11 and set it down on the pavement in our cul-de-sac to get a low angle view reflecting in the water puddles. It was still raining a fair bit and the lens of the camera kept getting water drops on it. I used my shirt (yikes) to wipe off the spray and kept shooting. I got this one keeper.

5 Responses to “The Daily Snap – July 7”

  1. When I saw this I immediately thought of the recent “Double Complete Rainbow” video going around on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQSNhk5ICTI

  2. This is a keeper! Great shot!

  3. Wow, that’s a great angle, I like the reflection of the rainbow on the road too.

  4. wow! Splendid shot Darwin, love the reflection of the rainbow on the water, really cool! Did you have your polarizer on?

  5. aswirly Says:

    What a treat. That is an incredible rainbow!

Leave a Reply

