Weekly Photo – July 16

©Darwin Wiggett

This was one strange storm cloud over Airdrie, Alberta. I photographed this cloud earlier in the evening and posted it as a Daily Snap. We saw this towering cloud at home in Cochrane and drove Northeast towards Airdrie looking for a foreground to show the scale of the cloud. We found this line of trees just as the cloud was lighting up at sunset. I shot this with a Canon Rebel T2i and a Tamron 17-50mm lens and a Singh-Ray LB colour combo warming polarizing filter on my Gitzo 2542L tripod.

19 Responses to “Weekly Photo – July 16”

  1. I like the mingling of the funnel from the ground and the upper lenticular cloud–nice purple,reds and blue mix of colors–overall it grabs the viewers eye right off the bat–

    cheers,

    Evan Spellman

  2. Wow. Gives real meaning to the ‘eye of the storm’. Fantastic capture, Darwin!

  3. I took the same scene! I was on highway 1A coming home from Cnmore. I did not know the storm was on Airdrie.

  4. Stephane Hachey Says:

    Simply amazing! My wife told me about a funel cloud in Alberta, didn’t think it looked so amazing!

  5. Fantastic shot! Being from the SF Bay Area where we haven’t seen a cloud (other than fog) since late May, I’m finding your artistic renderings of the dynamic Canadian skies absolutely amazing. Great stuff!

    (BTW, what do you think of the image quality of the T2i compared to the XSi?)

  6. That is one amazing looking weather formation. Lighting, photographing and post processing really shows the beauty of it all. Scale is very important, without it, it is just a pretty cloud formation.

  7. Oh my, oh my! That is one amazing freakish surreal cloud formation. What an incredible display, and what a great visual interpretation of prairie storm weather. Smashing… I’d go a long way to see something like that!🙂

  8. […] This was one strange storm cloud over Airdrie, Alberta. I photographed this cloud earlier in the evening and posted it as a Daily Snap. We saw this towering cloud at home in Cochrane and drove Northeast towards Airdrie looking for a foreground to show the scale of the cloud. We found this line of trees just as the cloud was lighting up at sunset. I … Read More […]

  9. This is a stunning photo.

  10. Wow, definitely a keeper and one of your masterpieces.🙂

  11. Awesome shot! Amazing clouds!

  12. Wild looking clouds Darwin!

  13. Jaw dropping image Darwin. I was wondering: Is the Tamron 17-50mm lens your “walk-around” lens? (i.e when you’re aren’t using your “walk-around G11 that is”. )

    • That is the ‘standard lens’ I use on the Rebe, it is inexpensive but of surprising quality. The auto-focus is a bit sluggish but I mostly use manual focus for landscapes. Darwin

  14. I took the same scene from highway 1A after I took some pictures at McDougall Church. I remember chimney shaped cloud turned to the huge tornade shape just before the sunset. I drove back toward Banff about 2 km and found a good location (for parking on narrow highway 1A). I have posted my image on my website.

  15. vincentp Says:

    That is superb!

  16. Yup! This is the photo I was waiting for from you Darwin🙂

    Did you see the insane pinks in the clouds as the sun went down?

  17. Carrie Bradley Says:

    I am undecided about purchasing the Tamron 17-50 non-IS or the newer version with IS. It appears this was shot with the non-IS version. Some reviews on the web claim the older non-IS version produces better quality images. I don’t know if I can justify the price increase for IS. Although I usually use a tripod when in the mood for “serious” photography (thus, eliminating the need for IS), I might also want to use this lens as a “walk-around-lens”. Any thoughts on this? Would appreciate any advice on a lens purchase. Awesome picture of the “cloud interest”.

    • For sure the non-IS version of most lenses are slightly sharper. But to make the most of this sharpness, you need to use a good tripod, cable release, good focus and the best apertures (e.g. f8) for ultimate sharpness. On the other hand, a hand held IS lens will be sharper than an non-IS hand-held lens at shutter speeds of 1/250 or less. The IS version are probably about 90% as sharp all else being equal when compared on bench test. But the real world is not a bench, if you plan to hand-hold a lot then the IS version is a good bet. Be sure to turn IS off when you use a tripod though (or you will get blurry images)

      Darwin

Leave a Reply

