Travel Photo Contest – Graham Budd

Graham Budd

©Graham Budd

The image was taken in an abandoned one room schoolhouse just outside Leader, Saskatchewan. Although dilapidated, the building contents including old desks, chairs and tattered books provided lots of evidence that it once housed children, long since gone. The dreary rainy weather and the grey somber skies added to the mood. As I looked out the window, I felt myself being carried back to a time when life was much simpler so I composed the shot accordingly. I had to decide whether to focus on the raindrops or the building, so I chose the former so as better to convey the feeling of being trapped inside. The original was shot in colour and converted to B&W using Nik Silver FX.

7 Responses to “Travel Photo Contest – Graham Budd”

  1. Graham, you really captured the mood of the moment. I wholeheartedly agree with the decision to focus on the raindrops because really they are the focus of the picture. The conversion to B&W adds to the mood and brings out the raindrops more. Great job!

  2. Anil Sud Says:

    Graham, this is a wonderful rendition of a rustic subject.

    The sombre mood is conveyed beautifully by your choice in point of focus and the decision to convert to greyscale.

    I think you have done an excellent job in achieving the feeling that you tried to convey.

  3. Rosaleen Says:

    You certainly conveyed the wet rainy day to me as I keep on wanting to wipe the drops away! Definitely a WOW! image. 🙂

  4. Fantastic, creative image. Your instinct to focus on the drops is spot-on.

    Funny, tho, that this image isn’t sombre at all for me. I think of it as one friend looking longingly out to the house of another friend, hoping the rain will stop so the two can get together and play. So, for me, that provides hope.

  5. Graham Budd Says:

    Thanks to all for your kind comments.

  6. Great photo from a rainy day…like it!

  7. Barry ryziuk Says:

    Hi Graham
    I was thinking of this photo today on my long drive to Longview, this has to be one of the best pictures from the entire extreme group, simple, to the point, and really captured my mood that morning, well done!

Leave a Reply

