The Daily Snap – July 24

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

Even though I only had the Canon G11 with no tripod I still managed to get a colourful long exposure of this scene along the Robson River in Mount Robson Provincial Park. I shot reflections of Mount Robson (the golden tones) glowing on the rock using a 1.6 second exposure to blend the colours of the scene. I used the built-in ND filter in the G11 to make the exposure longer and I jammed the camera between two rocks to hold it steady for the long exposure. I also used the 10 second self timer to prevent any movement when I pressed the shutter. I am pretty happy with the photo.

4 Responses to “The Daily Snap – July 24”

  1. Great picture , those point and shoot cameras from Canon are amazing. I have a G10 and its great.

    I have a few pictures in my flickr site of Elbow Falls with the G10, take a look for those non believers. Main difference i find is speed between the G10 and say 5D for example. As far as performance goes.

    Enjoy your vacation Darwin.

    Dan

  2. Wow, this was with the G11?! That is insane. I just got this about a month ago and it gives me hope that I can stretch its capabilities.
    I love your composition and those soft colors. Lovely, peaceful image.

  3. Miklós Says:

    Its fantastic.
    Your work with this small camera is amazing. If I can afford a second camera to my D700 this Canon would be the best. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Miklós

  4. David McLaughlin Says:

    Darwin,

    Do you finf the 2 second selftimer not long enough to prevent camera movement.

Leave a Reply

