The Daily Snap – July 27

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

I have been experimenting a bit with flash lately and I have been trying some set-ups that I learned in Ed Verosky’s wonderful  e-Book on flash photography (Click here to order Ed’s Flash e-Book)

One of the things I learned from Ed was that I needed a larger soft box to get more flattering light on my subjects so I bought a Cameron Octobox StobeEZ Kit (which I got yesterday from the Camera Store in Calgary). The kit comes with a stand, an octagon softbox and a clamp to attach a dSLR flash.  I mounted my Canon 580EZ onto a Pocket Wizard Flex TT5 Radio Slave which I mounted onto to the light stand. I put another Pocket Wizard onto the hot shoe of my Canon G11. One wizard sends a signal from the camera to the flash so that the flash fires when the shutter is open. I used the flip screen on the G11 pointed towards me as I took this self-portrait with the 10 second camera delay. I am planning to do some fill flash work with bright backgrounds and a  shaded subject. this is my first test of this set-up in my living room and the lighting looked pretty good (even if the model left much to be desired!). Here is what the shot looked like without the flash… the model looks better but the lighting is not great.The great thing about the G11 point-n-shoot is you can use complex flash set-ups with the camera if you want.

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11, no flash

4 Responses to “The Daily Snap – July 27”

  1. David McLaughlin Says:

    Hi Darwin,
    I also bought the Ed Verosky’s wonderful e-Book on flash photography. It is a great book to get you started. I have been using a shoot-through umbrela but often thought about a softbox. Thanks for bring the idea up agian.

    David

  2. I’ll have to give that a read too. Not sure if you’ve heard or read Joe McNally’s Hot shoe Diaries but its a great read about flash photography without getting too techy. (really great inspiration)

    Its amazing what you can do with flash when its off camera.

    As for your model? I suppose you can only blind Sam with that Canon 580EZ so many times before it gets old I guess🙂

  3. I will have to get that e-book to as I know practically nothing about flash.

    I photographed my friend’s 4 year old daughter and I really struggled with the lighting. Fortunately the images ended up looking fine and most importantly, my friends really like the images too.

  4. Very cool DW. I would never have guessed the Mini & Flex would work on a G11. I sure hope this works on my G10.

Leave a Reply

