Chasing Reflections

I have always fantasized about being a ‘street photographer’; you know one of those people who wanders the streets of a city, camera in hand, mining amazing photos of people and scenes and intimate moments. But alas, I am simply not brave enough. I would rather meet a grizzly bear face-to-face in some high mountain pass than have to stalk the streets of the city drawing attention to myself and my camera. Heaven forbid if I actually had to talk with someone to get permission to take photos. That’s why I am a nature photographer, trees and rocks don’t say no.😉

But I have just discovered a way to ease myself into street photography and come away with great moments just like Henri Cartier Bresson! Eli Reinholdtsen has just released a Craft and Vision ebook entitled Chasing Reflections that taught me that I can make great street images by indirectly photographing scenes and people by shooting reflections in windows, puddles, mirrors, metal and more. I was really inspired by Eli’s reflection images and by her approach. In fact, I may now be brave enough to try out a little street photography myself!. To whet your appetite for the technique and the results check out several of Eli’s images below.

<a href=”https://www.e-junkie.com/ecom/gb.php?cl=88199&c=ib&aff=120221&#8243; target=”ejejcsingle”>Click here to visit Craft And Vision.</a>

Click here to buy Eli’s Chasing Reflections. (if you use the promotional code  REFLECT4 when you checkout, you can have Chasing Reflections for only $4 OR use the code REFLECT20 to get 20% off when you buy 5 or more books from the Craft & Vision collection. These codes expire at 11:59pm PST August 1, 2010).

©Eli Reinholdtsen

©Eli Reinholdtsen

©Eli Reinholdtsen

©Eli Reinholdtsen

©Craft and Vision

4 Responses to “Chasing Reflections”

  1. Very cool! Street photography is a blast Darwin, you should definitely do more of it! People might just look weirdly at you for a second, but once they see your camera they seem to forget about you and go on. Do you do any night photography? It’s a blast – and challenging as well.

  2. Before I came to Canada, I SNAPPED almost everyday and my choice of camera was Leica. My favorite photographers were Bresson, Lee Friedlander, Kertész, and one-handed photographer, Josef Sudek. I was not interested in Ansel Adams at that times. It is ironic, lately I’ve been struggling with GND filters on my Leica in muontains. But now thses photos by Eli Reinholdtsen make me feel going for a walk in a city but leaving a polarizer at home.

  3. Pretty amazing photos. I, too, am very shy when it comes to street photography. I like the idea of seeing things in reflected surfaces…gives a whole new twist on things. Thanks for sparking my creativity!

  4. Wow, these are amazing, I too am shy to take street photography, I often think I am invading someone’s privacy though there are so many faces I see on the street which I find interesting and capture me. I often think that a face, a wrinkle, really tells a story of their life.

Leave a Reply

