Weekly Photo – August 13

©Darwin Wiggett

I took this photo using my Canon EOS-1ds Mark III,  a 24mm TS-E lens and a Singh-Ray 3-stop hard-edge grad filter. I used the shift feature on the lens to make two horizontal shots stacked into on larger vertical image (to see how to do this go here).

16 Responses to “Weekly Photo – August 13”

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog, this photo is very beautiful. Love the colors in the sky, and the colors of the grass.

    I’ve got a photography blog too, though it is not very good (I am a beginner, just started a month ago). Feel free to check it out if you can (criticism is more than welcome): http://Idiosyncraticmind.wordpress.com/

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by photo blog feeds, photo feeds. photo feeds said: ©Darwin Wiggett I took this photo using my Canon EOS-1ds Mark III,  a 24mm TS-E lens and a Singh-Ray 3-stop hard-… http://bit.ly/akNX8m […]

  3. Stunning photo, super vibrant color bands and light

  4. An iconic prairie scene… fantastic!

  5. Very cool shot Darwin, I love the colors!

  6. Big fan of your photos, Darwin! Like the composition and color. Would it look “fuller” by cropping the upper sky out a liitle bit?

  7. Stunning. Made me want to see the Canola fields of Alberta again.

  8. Wow! Simply gorgeous!
    I love the contrast of texture and colors, great shot Darwin!

  9. Oh gosh, the colors are wonderful. Love the leading line of the fence too.

  10. Could you explain how you meter with ND grad filters ?

    • I just place the filters into the filter holder and then use evaluative metering and let the camera figure out the right exposure. From there I adjust the exposure if necessary to get the histogram as far to the right as possible without clipping important highlights. Darwin

  11. Could you explain us how do you meter with ND grad filters ?

  12. Kev Gardiner Says:

    Pretty shot. Great colors.

    Not to nitpick but the area below the horizon at the top of the fence line seems unnaturally dark. Is this because of the stitching? Also the highlight of the leading line of the cloud is dark gray, it looks like it should be white. That’s the first thing I see when I look at it.

    They ruin an otherwise nice picture.

    • I think the gray color might have been a result of using ND filters. I guess the dark area near the horizon is the shadow of solid filter. This area can certainly be lightened using PS or Lightroom. However I like the way it is now— emphisizing the foreground and the yellow flowers in the field close to the photographer, and giving a dramatic effect as seen in some good moives. Good pictures are not necessarily as same as what the eyes can see…….just some of my thoughts.

    • There as a strong cloud shadow on the distant horizon which darkened the canola field (both RAW images in the stitch showed the same darkening). The grey cloud you speak of looked that way to the eye… your gonna have to crtique Mother Nature on that one😉

  13. Thanks for the video instruction. What a great way to learn. I had no idea that a tilt/shift lens could shift so much. Without that video, I never would have known.

Leave a Reply

