Weekly Photo – September 10

©Darwin Wiggett

This photo was taken from the top of Goldensides in Tombstone Territorial Park in the Yukon. That’s Samantha on the rock pile in the foreground. Grand views in a big land but it almost cost both of  us our lives. Long story… and one of poor decisions (on my part) but we survived and learned a valuable lesson. Nature is not something to be taken lightly. Every time I see this photo I am reminded of how thin life hangs on the edge. Click on the photo for a larger view.

11 Responses to “Weekly Photo – September 10”

  1. jackvjohnson Says:

    Yikes! Glad you’re both OK! Will you be sharing this story at some point?

    – Jack

  2. Mary Alston Says:

    Such a timely photo for me. We just survived a fire that came our of nowhere on Monday and destroyed many homes in Gold Hill Colorado where we live.

  3. Lovely shot. You’ll have to give us the story!

  4. A life-threatening situation in Tombstone Park? youch. Maybe a little comment from Ma Nature – “Come on and live here, just don’t forget who you’re dealing with!”.
    I’d love to hear the details…!

  5. Now I can’t help but wonder about this story… Seeing Samantha on the rocks adds a fascinating sense of scale. The heavy cloud and jagged landscape gives the whole scene an ominous feel but very beautiful.

  6. Awesome photo…now you can’t leave us hanging on the story Darwin!

  7. Ohhh, I’m glad that you’re both safe! Gorgeous shot, I cannot wondering what went wrong…

  8. Beautiful place, looks magical, curious to hear what happened and how this photograph reminds you of how life hangs on the edge. I’m glad that you guys are okay.

  9. Darwin, I think, around here, your life usually hangs from the edge of a granola bar.😉 But, seriously, I’m sure we could all benefit from the lesson you learned.

  10. Great shot, Darwin. I’d like to hear about what happened sometime. We’re planning to head up the Dempster Highway next year.

  11. Susan Osborn Says:

    Curiosity killed the cat, let us know your story. I am glad that you are ok, what would I do without your daily snap.

Leave a Reply

