The Daily Snap – September 18

©Darwin Wiggett

More and more I am attracted to intimate landscapes and especially to forest scenes. I am not sure why. Maybe it is the contemplative and zen-like state I feel when composing these kinds of shots or maybe it is just so refreshing to not rush the photography.

In grand landscape, big theatrical light photography there is the pressure to ‘nail it’, to get the moment at its peak. It is hurry up and wait. There is pressure; pressure not to miss the moment, time constraints to find a great composition before the light wanes, and even your own pressure of expectation. Sometimes I get performance anxiety… but in quiet light, with subdued subjects, the approach is more meditative. I like that. A lot. I like slowing down, relaxing and savoring the longer moments. Do these kinds of photos like the one above resonate with other viewers? I do not know… I do know they have less mass appeal and that they sell poorly in the commercial world. But the reason I take photos (and the reason you should take photos) is not to satisfy others but simply to satisfy yourself. The photo above for me is a little moment of satisfaction. Click on the photo to see a larger version.

10 Responses to “The Daily Snap – September 18”

  1. Your right that the intimate scenes don’t have that WOW impact your grand landscapes have but they still pull me in. But rather than appreciating the drama of the scene I find I am studying the details and feel the draw to get back out into nature because these photos really represent those moments when you’re out for the sake of being out in nature and the scene before you makes you stop and take note. It is moments like that that make me appreciate where I am and it is truly satisfying taking time to just draw it in. They may not be as popular but when they resonate it is on a much more personal level. Your not alone it your thoughts!

  2. jackvjohnson Says:

    I really enjoy intimate landscapes, too, both out of preference and necessity – the only great vistas in my region are looking out over the Great Lakes…
    :^D

    – Jack

  3. I’ve found that I’m much more successful when I can just relax and not put the pressure on myself. It’s not always an easy thing to do when the conditions are exciting and things are changing quickly. I agree that it’s a pleasure to have less dramatic scenes before you and you can take your time and capture the “quiet” moments.

  4. I have tried the ‘wow’ type of photography, and will continue to do so. But when it comes to really enjoying photography, it is certainly the subtler, more intimate landscape that appeals to me. I think it was Freeman Patterson who inspired me in that way. If I want to relax, a slow stroll through a landscape looking out for those nuanced scenes are the most satisfactory.

  5. I’m with you on this Darwin, intimate landscape is much more about the “personal” creative process than nailing that grand scene image. To be able to slow down and enjoy what one is looking at is or should be the main objective in photography instead of making sure all the elements are perfect so one can capture the grand image. Personal views and insights are what separates one photographer from another. Nothing illustrates this better than intimate scenes such as you have captured. Why they have less appeal in the big market place is a mystery, maybe people feel that in a grand mountain scene for example there is more there to enjoy than in this type of intimate shot, which to me is just not true.

    Educating and informing viewers of the personal appeal of intimate shots I think is the key to bringing due credit to them. They must understand what they are viewing, easier said than done I know. Grand scenes are really just made up of multiple intimate scenes.

  6. I just drove up Highway 11 heading from Banff to Edmonton and couldn’t believe the hectares of burnt forest before my eyes. What a shame.

    Great pictures as always Darwin !

    Dan

  7. This photo reminds me of a melody, a melody of colors that blend together perfectly. I agree, if a photographer is not on the job photographing for a customer, they should always photograph for themselves. The best photographs always come from the heart.

  8. I still have no idea what images have mass appeal, I have not tried to photograph for any market – I think I’m a long way from that – I only know that I can completely relate to what you say about shooting the intimate landscape, which is revealed here in wonderful detail. I go out into nature for the soul food and I photograph to visually express what I feel, I know nothing about pressure, photographically speaking.

  9. Mike Kapiczowski Says:

    I agree Darwin. The “big” scenes are often what catches our attention, but the intimates can be more rewarding, at least for me. On a late Aug. trip to Jasper the smoke obscured the mountains and so I started looking at closer views. I played around with rocks and waterfalls and shutterspeeds, I took more notice of flowers. The end result was some very pleasing images.

  10. […] a post on his blog from a few weeks ago, Darwin Wiggett wrote: More and more I am attracted to intimate landscapes and […]

Leave a Reply

