The Daily Snap – October 4

©Darwin Wiggett

I often get asked the question, “How can I make a living as a nature photographer?”. Well… that is a huge question and one that I gave a few answers to back in April in this blog post. But one simple thing you can do while shooting is to try and shoot every composition you make as  both a vertical and a horizontal image. You never know if your client (ad, book, calendar, art print) is going to want a vertical or horizontal version, so make both whenever you can. To facilitate making a quick change from horizontal to vertical I use an L-Plate from Really Right Stuff–to find out more about this indispensable piece of gear check this link out. I even have an L-plate on my Canon G11  point-n-shoot which I use to take these Daily Snaps so when I use a tripod with my G11 I can go from horizontal to vertical in a snap! These photos were taken along the Floe Lake trail in Kootenay National Park, BC, Canada

©Darwin Wiggett

5 Responses to “The Daily Snap – October 4”

  1. Hey Darwin, Great idea to shoot both. Would you say you always stick with the same crop ratio for a client?

    Nice shot on the cover of Dogs Canada.

  2. That is a good idea, it certainly changes the feel to the photos. I like the vertical shot for this scene.

  3. Beautiful pair of images Darwin. I like them very much – I like the contrast between the colour at the bottom and the bare trunks at the top of the frame.

  4. These are sweet. You really inspire me to go for the colorful views of nature and great reminder of always look vertical as well as horizontal.

Leave a Reply

