The Weekly Photo – October 15

©Darwin Wiggett

On this last fall colours photo tour it was interesting to look at the EXIF data from my photographs. Forty percent of all my photos were taken with my trusty Canon EF 24mm TSE lens (no surprise!). But the lens I used just as much as my tilt shift (at 40%)  was the Sigma 120-400mm telephoto zoom! More and more I am using the Sigma lens to give me ‘extractive’ landscape photos like the image above. I just love the flexibility and reach of the lens. When the light is changing fast, like it was here with moving cloud shadows, this long tele-zoom lets me fine tune compositions on the fly. And it works equally well as a wildlife lens. If you missed my review of the Sigma 120-400mm lens check it out here. The photo above was taken with the Rebel T2i (my vote for best value in a digital camera ever!) and the 120-400lens. Click on the photo to see a larger image.

5 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – October 15”

  1. Wow what striking colours! Nice shot🙂

  2. Sweet shot Darwin, I recently found myself putting a longer zoom lens on while out in Colorado to capture more intimate compositions of aspens as well. It’s really great to be able to pick out unique comps in nature, great advice for all. You almost have me talked into the T2i, nice to hear your opinion.

  3. Nature’s first green is gold.

  4. wonderful colors!🙂

  5. Nice shot! And I agree on the T2i. I bought one a couple of months ago and love it.

Leave a Reply

