The Weekly Photo – October 22

 

©Darwin Wiggett

 

I made this photograph while it was sleeting. The heavy combo of rainy snow gave the atmosphere a pastel look that I really like. I pulled out my trusty Sigma 120-400mm lens racked out to 400mm on my Canon EOS-1ds Mark III and made this image which to me has an old time sepia look. The image is full of long streaks from the falling sleet and the slow shutter speed (1/10th of a second) that add to the painterly effect (click on the photo to see a larger version).

Whenever I use a telephoto lens at shutter speeds between 1/60 and 1 second, I always try to use mirror lock-up to prevent vibrations from mirror-slap in the camera from giving me blurred images. I think people who say that their telephoto zooms are not sharp are probably just missing a few critical steps for optimizing sharpness (mirror lock-up, remote release, solid tripod with no center post up, IS or VR off while on a tripod, precise focus – I prefer Live View for its accuracy).

 

3 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – October 22”

  1. Looks like a painting, Darrin. I haven’t used mirror lockup as of yet. Plan to over thew weekend.

  2. Beautiful shot, was this taken on Friday October 15? We were travelling along highway 40 to Smith Dorien Spray Lake Trail and the scene looks familiar. We hit a little snowstorm there.

Leave a Reply

