The Daily Snap – November 9

Yesterday I posted a photo of a houseplant leaf taken with the Canon G11 in macro mode. Today I am posting another leaf from the same plant but this time instead of showing the leaf in documentary style, I am turning the leaf into interpretive art by using the Bleach Bypass filter in Nik Color Efex Pro. Here is the final image:

©Darwin Wiggett

Here is what the actual leaf looked like

©Darwin Wiggett

The Bleach Bypass filter works great on subjects like old cars and buildings and anything textured like the leaf above or the weathered face of an elderly man. If you haven’t tried it, give it a go, it has become one of my favorite post-production filters

 

9 Responses to “The Daily Snap – November 9”

  1. The effect is amazing. I have learned a new thing today. Thanks.

  2. the Bleach process has always been very interesting.
    superb subject matter for the filter.
    Wonderful Image!

  3. I’m a Nik fan as well. Great use of bleach bypass here!

  4. This looks great Darwin! I find the filter doesn’t work for 90% of my imagas but when it does, the results are magic.

  5. Does PS have anything similar? Love it.

  6. Gorgeous gritty mood in this image, Darwin. I like it!

  7. Thanks for sharing your work and how you get this result. I am using Nik Software plug-ins for Lightroom more often these days. I have not used Color Efex Pro much up to now but will do some more experimenting after reading this post.

  8. That is pretty cool. I’ll have to try that filter.

Leave a Reply

