Winter Magic in the Canadian Rockies – 2011

Due to popular demand I have added a third Winter Magic Photo Tour in the Canadian Rockies for Jan. 26 to Jan. 30, 2011. We concentrate on capturing the fantastic ice-scapes on Abraham Lake and explore the lesser known areas of the Bighorn Wildlands and Banff and Jasper National Park, Alberta in the prime of winter. Please note that all the tours I do based out of Aurum Lodge sell out fast (in fact this new tour is the only one that I am doing that has openings for 2011). If you are interested here is the link to the Aurum Lodge with prices and further information. Hope to see you there with your parka and camera!

©Darwin Wiggett

©Darwin Wiggett

©Darwin Wiggett

©Darwin Wiggett

©Darwin Wiggett

7 Responses to “Winter Magic in the Canadian Rockies – 2011”

  1. Parka? These photos do not look cold at all.

  2. Wish I could join you, but perhaps next year. I would love to see and photograph this beautiful part of the world!

  3. A realy good picture taker…

  4. I read you blog on a regular basis and I grew up in the Banff area. I am mystified why you show so many landscape images of the rather plain and unspectacular mountains around Abraham Lake? The ice in your images is great and it is true that many of the stunning landscapes in Banff and Jasper National Park have been photographed to death, but what about areas like Lake O’Hara, Spray Lakes or Mount Assiniboine? Why not take some pictures on a trip to the Skoki lodge? I never see images of these fantastic places on your website.

    • Hi Jens,

      Three reasons I show lots of Abraham Lake shots:

      1. I love the area and have a deep attachment to it
      2. The ice on Abraham is the best in the Rockies, bar none, I have yet to see better!
      3. I do photo tours out of a lodge on the shores of Abraham Lake and showing the shots is good promo to fill the tours (advertising) which fills my fridge with food.

      Hey, why don’t you send me some great photos of these other fine winter areas so we can show the world other possibilities — plus it will send lots of folks to your website which is good for promoting your work😉. I would be happy to feature your work here on the blog.

      Keep shooting!

      Darwin

      Darwin

  5. Fantastic winter shots, Darwin. I’m going to have to check my budget for 2011 to see if I can join one of your winter tours.

  6. One of these days I will have to attend, it is still a plan but just timing never works out. I have never been to Abraham Lake but I really love the photos you have taken there, the mountains seem spectacular to me, just the area itself, it makes me want to go even more and I also loved Samantha’s winning shot from there🙂

Leave a Reply

