Some Tidbits on Tilt Shifts

Many of you know I am a big fan and user of Tilt Shift lenses where I use shift to help control perspective and to make panorama images. But mostly I use tilt to control depth-of-field independent of aperture. I love being able to use tilt to get subjects in focus from mere inches in front of the lens all the way to infinity (like in the image below). If you want to learn more about why I use tilt shift lenses and how they work go listen to  this podcast with yours truly over at Photography.ca. I highly recommend the podcasts at Photography.ca (not because I am interviewed–it must have been a slow week!) but because there are some really high profile photographers interviewed with insightful commentary (e.g. check out this podcast)

Also related to tilt shift lenses but you can do it with regular lenses is a technique that Samantha and I call Sky Stitches. We wrote about this previously in Popular Photography but now the article is on the web over at PhotoRepublik. See if this is a technique that will work for your photos.

And lastly if you missed the video I made showing how I use the shift function on the tilt shift lens to make ‘stitches’ you can see it at this link.

©Darwin Wiggett

Mount William Booth and the North Saskatchewan River at Kootenay Plains, Alberta. Canon EOS-1ds Mark III, Canon TS-E 24mm f3.5L lens.

 

4 Responses to “Some Tidbits on Tilt Shifts”

  1. The video says you also have the 17mm tilt as well as the 24. With the bulb lens, is it possible to filter it at all? I think you hinted that the 17 would require exposure merging.

  2. Hi Darwin: With the TSE-24mm, will the 82mm limits the type of filters that can be used, e.g., the Gold-N-Blue?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

