The Daily Snap – December 4

Because of the amazing file quality I now use the Sigma Dp1x as my landscape point-n-shoot camera. I just love the files it gives me. The Canon G11 is my people, family, pets, macro and all around ‘happy snap’ camera. The two machines are very different animals and serve specific purposes. Below is a shot from yesterday with the DP1x. I ordered the lens hood/filter holder so I can use a polarizer and grad filters on the DP1x, but I do not have this accessory yet. So yesterday I hand-held a 3-stop hard-edge grad filter over the lens to hold back exposure in the sky. I also used a reflector leaning against my leg to add light to the fence post. Imagine what the farmer who drove by thought of me. Here I am with a big ‘Fargo’ parka holding a grad in one hand, trying to press the shutter with the other hand and balancing a big silver disc on my leg with Brando (my dog) curled up beside me in a snow drift! No wonder he sped up as he drove by!

©Darwin Wiggett

detail from the shot above

One Response to “The Daily Snap – December 4”

  1. That’s hilarious Darwin….maybe he tought you were measuring anatomic light waves or signaling to the ufo’s” it’s too dame cold down here now, go away and come back another day”….or your dog was disguised as a UFO type critter…..Oh well Great shot anyway…should look into light reflectors myself….I can really see the benefit of them!!!!!

Leave a Reply

