Hidden Gems of 2010

For me, 2010 was an interesting year. Stock sales continued to decline and the recession hit many photographers hard. Fortunately for me, this past year was the best year I have ever had financially because I diversified my income. I make my income from three main sources; stock photo sales (direct and through agencies), teaching (workshops, seminars and tours), and assignment (writing and photography commission work). Each contributes about 30-35% to the overall income.

The major investment I made this year to the business side of photography cost me a lot in personal creative growth. I simply had very little time to make photos. I only got out to shoot about 25% of the time and with so little time to devote to the art of photography, the creativity hit a bit of a road block.

So for 2011, I plan to achieve a better balance of business and creativity. When I look back at the 1300 ‘keepers’ I created in 2010 I was not overly impressed with what I saw. But I did make a few images I liked which I shared in my Weekly Photos and in my Daily Snaps.

Below are 10 images which are a little more subtle but that continue to please me even after looking at them for a long time.

 

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon 1ds Mark III, Sigma 120-400

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon 1ds Mark III Sigma 120-400mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon 1ds Mark III, Sigma 120-400mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon 1ds Mark III, Sigma 120-400mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon Rebel T2i, Sigma 17-50mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon Rebel T2i, Sigma 17-50mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon Rebel T2i, Sigma 120-400mm

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon G11

32 Responses to “Hidden Gems of 2010”

  1. Dwight,

    Excellent. If I had to choose, it would be #’s 2,3 5 & 6.

    John

  2. Sounds like good news so here’s to hoping 2011 is even better. For an “over saturated market”, you’re not the only photographer I’ve heard claim this to be their best year ever.

    Maybe you’re really forward thinking but I assume the 1300 keepers were from 2010. I really need to work on rejecting more photos. I tend to keep almost everything which serves no other purpose then to take up drive space.

    • I only keep about 10-15% of what I shoot, so the 1300 images were the ones I kept and processed from all I shot in 2010.

      I plan to edit even more ruthlessly in the future.

      Darwin

  3. Definitely keepers, my favorite ones are the 4th, 5th and the 10th photo

  4. I really like that Black and White shot Darwin!

  5. Great work Darwin thanks for sharing some insights to your year. Nice to see some of the shots you were pleased with came from the G11, proving a talented creative photographer doesn’t need big high dollar gear to produce great work. I am just begging to find out how much time the business side of photography takes and it’s really bummin me out!

    I wish you and yours the best in the upcoming new year, looking forward to more great imagery and thanks for providing a wonderful blog to keep all us wannabees informed of the life and times of Darwin! (Now if I could just make it up to one of your workshops!)

  6. Terrific collection, Darwin.

  7. Grant Zelych Says:

    I’m fascinated by your “spring in cochrane” image. I too have similar images that I like but they, like yours, seem to break all the “rules” of composition ( no subject, no leading lines, etc., etc. ). Now, I’m no rules nazi, but I am curious as to why such images “appeal”? Any thoughts / insites?

    • Well these kinds of images only resonate with a small audience, but I think it is because of the mood the image imparts and people that have experience with the land seem to connect with these images. Darwin

  8. All of these show a striking amount of attention to balance and harmony. Thanks for sharing them Darwin.

  9. Darwin, these are wonderful. I for one, will come back and look at these again and again and learn something new each time. Congrats on a great year and here’s to an exciting and creative 2011!

  10. looks to me like Darwin Wiggitt is softening and reflecting. I likle it! Mufty

  11. I like #4 and #7. Great captures.

  12. Darwin, wonderful images! I particularly enjoy the abstract qualities of these captures. My favorites are #1, #4, and #6. Thanks for sharing your talent and insights on your blog!

  13. I appreciate the candidness, Darwin. I had a film/video business back in the early 90s and am well aware of the pitfalls of creative photographic work. Kudos for weathering the current economic storm!

    All fine shots BTW (IMHO). I think we (as in the “I” looking at a photo “I” made) have reasons for liking a shot. That others like it is a gift.

    Looking forward to tuning in to the 2011 Wiggett adventure series (though I’ll sorely miss the daily snaps).

  14. Thank’s Darwin for all these beauties. I really love the vermilion river and the allstones canyon.

    Thank’s also for all the work you did on this blog during the (almost) past year.
    Following it was for me a daily joy.
    I know your images for a long time and have seen the transition from grandscapes with impressive light and WA to what you call intimate landscapes and i really like your work in these 2 styles.

    Best wishes for 2011.

  15. Darwin, I’m happy to hear that 2010 was a good year business wise for you. Too bad you weren’t able to photograph as much as you would have liked.

    All of these images are great and interesting but I think my favorites are #1 and #10.

    All the best in the new year Darwin!

  16. Mike Ferron Says:

    Don’t feel bad. Ansel Adams was happy with 12 outstanding photos a year. (so i read somewhere) Anyway 5&6 are my favorites. Nice work.

  17. Andrew Kelley Says:

    Lovely portfolio, Darwin. The third image from the top is my favorite.

    Speaking of business matters, where may I purchase a print of that image?

  18. Wow, 1300 keepers. I only had about 30 in 2010. So I’m either too ruthless, I don’t shoot enough, or I suck. 🙂

    Happy new year, Darwin.

    • You only kept 30 pictures out of all you shot in 2010? If so, you ARE ruthless! I’ll bet you have 30 that you really, really like but that you actually kept more than 30 digital files.

      I probably shot over 10,000 photos but only kept 1300. These 1300 are use-able to sell in stock or for magazine articles etc. I probably only like really like about 20-40 though. Darwin

      • Yes, I shot just over 4000 images but only 30 were show stoppers. The others were either deleted or kept to remind me to go back and do it right the next time.

  19. Love your work Darwin. Since your
    workshop in Moncton this fall I’ve been “seeing” better. Thanks for that.

    Layton

  20. […] to trash bin I'd guess something like 35 : 1 (It used to be a bit lower when I had to pay for film) darwin wiggett just blogged about this as well. He's an awesome landscape pro "I probably shot over 10,000 […]

  21. […] Wiggett’s Hidden Gems of 2010 – https://darwinwiggett.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/hidden-gems-of-2010/ (of course, I love all of Darwin’s work but 4 and 7 I like the […]

  22. […] Darwin Wiggett commonly uses to describe those types of images. In fact, some of Darwin’s own favourite images from last year fit into this category, with this being a good example: © 2010 Darwin […]

Leave a Reply

