The Weekly Photo – January 3, 2011

For 2011, I plan to post a weekly photo; a favorite image I shot or processed that week. In 2010, the weekly photo was posted on Friday but because of Sam and my Fabulous Film Friday’s project, I am moving the weekly photo to Mondays. Twice a week on Wednesdays and Sundays I will feature the work of other photographer’s images that I find inspiring in the twice weekly “Inspirations”.

On December 31, 2010, I went out in the morning to walk Brando in the -30 degree weather. The fog rolling off the Bow River was beautiful and I shot a number of images with my Rebel T2i until the cold seeped into our bones. We ran home with frozen toes and warmed ourselves by the fire with a ‘special’ coffee (Brando loves his special coffee!). Here are the two images I like best from the morning shoot.

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon Rebel T2i, Sigma 17-50mm at 45mm/f10

©Darwin Wiggett - Canon T2i, Sigma 17-50mm at 33mm/f10

14 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – January 3, 2011”

  1. Stunning!! Beautiful work. I am looking forward to seeing more of your images!

  2. Beautiful shots Darwin!

  3. Both images are incredibly gorgeous.

  4. Wow, these are amazing, I love colors and the feel to these photos. What is Brando’s special coffee?

  5. Darwin–Are you happy with the Sigma lens ?
    the photo’s on the blog look great to my eye….

  6. Love both of these Darwin. That stretch of the Bow through Cochrane is beautiful and you’ve created magic here.

  7. Beautiful colors on the second shot- they nicely contrast with bluish tones of winter in left corner.

  8. I saw that fog and I was pondering about going outside or not. I waited too long though. -30 brrr. It was -15 with a lot of wind this morning and after 10 min my hands were simply hurting as hell. Great shots. Are you on the south side of the river or the north? Maybe I’ll run into you soon sometimes. Would love to meet Brando.😉

  9. It really is true that if you snooze, you lose…. worth the discipline to get up early and put on the layers….God that is cold! Great shots!

  10. No no let me rephrase that. I was awake and outside. I had to drop the truck of for maintenance. SO I drank warm coffee instead🙂

  11. WOW – you’ve really outdone yourself with these Darwin! Stunning examples of just how beautfiul (and colorful) this time of year can be!

  12. Both are amazing images, but the second one just took my breath away:) Freezing to your bones seems to pay off;-)

Leave a Reply

