Inspirations – Mark Ridout

© Mark Ridout

Canon EOS 5D 28mm 1/25 sec f/2.8 ISO 400

I had just finished photographing Mom and the baby on the bed together and when Mom got up to adjust her clothing, the baby looked content and safe. I asked Mom to back out of the frame and I photographed the image. I wanted to allow as much light as I could get from the window behind the baby, so shot manual mode to allow the light to come in and wrap the baby. By placing the baby in the bottom left of the frame I could show the light source, clean feel of the room, the calm, serenity and the simplicity of the shot. Sometimes less is more and in this case I believe it works. ~Mark Ridout

8 Responses to “Inspirations – Mark Ridout”

  1. Love the “feel” of this image: a newborn, safe and content.

  2. Frank Williams Says:

    happened across your blog while surfing “inspiring landscape photographers Canada”…Wow! your right this Ridout guy is an inspiration…loved the Cuba gallery. Thanks for sharing

  3. Colorblindxs2 Says:

    Excellent…Embracing the Light!!!
    The little Angel feels Secure….

  4. I have always loved this shot Darwin! Mark Ridout is an inspiration in my wedding and portrait work just as you are in my landscape work. He has a very unique style and really great eye for emotion and details.

  5. I LOVE THE FINE BABY IMAGE BUT ADMIT TO WANTING TO CROP OUT THE FRAME/HANDLE AREA SO THAT ONE SEES THE WHITE RECTANGLE OF THE BED AND THAT OF THE GLASS BUT NOT THE WOOD FRAME HANDLE AND COMPLEXITY OF IT. THE LIGHT IN A WONDER.

  6. Absolutely Beautiful… I agree Less is Definitely More in this shot.

  7. Just beautiful……………………!!!

Leave a Reply

