January Winter Tour Results – Alan Ernst

Below are six favorites from Alan Ernst, co-leader of the winter tours based out of the Aurum Lodge. I am always impressed by Alan’s ability to see great stuff that most people would pass by.

©Alan Ernst

Cline River – Panasonic G1, 1.3 seconds at f11, Lumix 45-200mm lens

©Alan Ernst

Pine Grosbeak – Panasonic G1, 1/160s at f5.6, Lumix 100-300mm lens

©Alan Ernst

Abraham Lake – Panasonic G1 – 1/40s at f11, Olympus 11-22mm lens

©Alan Ernst

Abraham Lake – Panasonic G1, 1/4s at f13, Olympus 11-22mm lens

©Alan Ernst

Mistaya Canyon –  Panasonic GH1, 1/125s at f8, Lumix 14-45mm lens

©Alan Ernst

Blue Eyes – Panasonic G1, 1/60s at f9, Lumix 45-200mm lens

 

 

9 Responses to “January Winter Tour Results – Alan Ernst”

  1. Hi Alan, looks like you had fun on the tour! Is “Blue Eyes” your alter ego?!😉 Great job! Werner

    • Hey Werner,
      There was no sand to play in, so I decided to play in the snow while waiting for you folks to get moving… The “eyes” were actually tripod leg holes in the snow that caught my attention because of the blue ice underneath. The rest was a given. I guess some people never mature… If you think there is any resemblance to yours truly, I’m actually quite flattered!

  2. Lynn Smith Says:

    Really nice creative work.

  3. Linda Schettle Says:

    Nice to see some fantastic shots on the micro 4/3rds system. I recently purchased the Panasonic GH2 as a second camera system (I usually shoot with the 7D), and while I’m getting great people shots, I’m having trouble getting the sharp detail in my scenics that I see in yours. I’m using the 14-140mm Lumix lens. Any suggestions for settings, focus, etc.

    • Hello Linda,

      Lumix’s G-series is amazing from a point of view of compactness and ergonomics / ease of use, as well as a great feature set. The major drawback of the entire system is the quality of its lenses which are avarage at best (I really hope Sigma will give them a run for their money, now they have decided to enter this market!). The 14-140mm you are using is a great all-round zoom lens but I have also made the experience that it is not that sharp, especially at the long end above 50mm. As a result, I went out and bought myself a G1 as soon as the G2 came out and the G1’s were going for a song. I now use the GH1 with the 14-45mm and the G1 with the 45-200mm lens and don’t have to switch lenses a lot. Both these lenses provide slightly better image quality then the 14-140mm mega-zoom (which is really a compromise because of the extreme zoom range).
      Whereas I have not tried the 50mm macro or 8mm fish-eye, all the other Lumix lenses except the 20mm f1.7 have a very narrow usable f-stop range with the “sweet spot” around f7.1 to f8 giving you the best optical quality / sharpness. Unfortunately, that’s no help if you do landscapes and require maximum depth of field. This is why I have started to use the Olympus 4/3 lenses with an adapter. They are heavy / bulky and I can only focus manually, however the sharpness and usable aperture range are far superior…
      To sum it up:
      – use the Lumix lens at f7.1-f8, whenever you can and avoid going over f13
      – use manual focus whenever you can (AF is fairly good in general but I have also made the experience that the lens appears sharper at distances less than infinity, which is likely why you are happy with your people shots but not your landscapes…)
      – use RAW (G-series in-camera jpegs are not as crisp as other brands). I tend to use RAW / jpeg combined. If the jpeg is good, I don’t have to post process and if not, I can fall back on the RAW file to tweak it
      – when using the camera on a tripod for landscapes, make sure you turn off the image stabilisation!
      All of the above will have an impact. In the end, you will likely still require some post-processing.

      regards,

      Alan

  4. […] Read the original post: January Winter Tour Results – Alan Ernst […]

  5. Linda Schettle Says:

    Thank you Alan for the very detailed insight and explanation. Perhaps I will just use the 14-140mm lens for video since I think it is optimized for that. I have the Lumix F1.7 20mm which I can use for close range and indoor shots. Do you think the Lumix 4/3rds (non micro) lenses are of any better quality, ie. the F3.5-5.6 14-150mm, F2.8-3.5 14-50mm or the F1.4 25mm? I think these can be used with an adapter and still auto focus. How do you like your Lumix 100-300 micro?

    • Hello Linda,
      I have the Lumix 4/3 f3.8-5.6 14-50mm which came with the L10. Although Leica branded, I consider it average only. It is pretty slow and bulky.
      I am not familiar with the other two, however, I feel that whenever you go for something with a 10x zoom range you will loose quality one way or other. If you don’t mind working with an adapter and do a lot of manual focusing, I would go for the mid-range or pro series Zuiko lenses instead (I believe the GH2 and G2 will actually autofocus with most of these, but you will need to try it out and it will likely be fairly slow).
      I use the 50mm macro, 11-22mm, 12-60mm, 50-200mm Zuiko lenses with my E-620 and they are all fast and excellent. The 70-300mm Olympus lens is less stellar and similar to the new Lumix 100-300: a great zoom range but both are a little soft. If you are looking for something mostly for landscape, and manual focus is not a problem, then I think you will like the 11-22mm Zuiko lens with the adapter.
      Remember though that even with a superb lens, you will still have to deal with the other drawbacks of the 4/3 system: lack of dynamic range and excessive noise at high ISO’s.
      Alan

  6. Super set Alan. I love the Pine Grosbeak & the ‘self portrait’!

Leave a Reply

