The Weekly Photo – March 7

I am one day late with the weekly photo. It has been a crazy two weeks with back-to-back winter photo tours. Not only was it brutally cold and challenging conditions to photograph, crazy things happened. From frost bite to car accidents to mechanical breakdowns, it was adventurous to say the least. I now have many new winter images to sort and process. Here is one from the last day of the last tour showing an interesting mountain shadow projected onto the clouds from a low rising sun. Canon Rebel T2i, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 lens, 1/400 at f8, Converted to B+W with Nik Silver Efex Pro.

 

©Darwin Wiggett - Mount Michener Cloud Shadow

11 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – March 7”

  1. Wow. Great shot Darwin. It was an interesting week, that’s for sure. That shadow was surreal.

    Thanks again for a great tour of the Rockies, you sure know your light and locations. To anyone debating on booking one of his tours, just do it. The accommodations are incredible, the food alone is worth it and everyone is super nice and helpful. I learn’t so much just from watching and interacting with a large group of photographers, couldn’t ask for much better than that. The only downside to hanging out with Darwin for a week is that you’ll want to buy a tilt shift lens by the end of it………

    Thanks again,

    Stephane

    ps, had a great sunrise at glory hole! everything was frosted over too!

  2. Wow, that is amazing that you got that affect from a camera.. Great job!

    Cheers

  3. Hi Darwin,

    Way cool! I’ve never seen a shadow like that, in pictures or in real life. Nice! Glad you guys survived all of that adventure!

    – Chris Kayler

  4. I have never seen a shadow off a mountain like that and I’ve been doing landscape photography for 20 years. It’s always worth the early mornings for an image like that.

  5. Thats very cool, I’ve never scene anything like it before.

  6. Hi Darwin, great photo, but I have real difficulties to understand how such phenomenon can happen (I have a PhD in physics -astronomy and atmospheric science-). Cheers, L.

  7. Hi, me again!! I understand how it happens. The mountain shade is projected on to a “sea of clouds” which is below the mountain and you, the photographer, are also above the “sea of clouds”. I have seen this in Canary Islands when the Teide volcano projects its shape during the sunset and sunrise. L.

  8. Darwin, great image!!
    Sounds like you guys had a heck of a time on that tour!
    Right now I´m in Italy, Lago di Garda, relaxing in the sun with my family, from the last tour with you😉
    (its just a 5 hour drive away where I live)

  9. Super cool! This is the best photo I’ve ever seen of this kind of thing…

Leave a Reply

