Inspirations – Relax by Mary Kay

© Mary Kay

Nikon D70s, 1.3 seconds at f/13, ISO 200
Nikkor 18-200 VR @ 22mm with Hoya Infrared (R72) filter

This tree stands right in the middle of nowhere, on the side of a narrow, winding country road leading to a surreal little village in Northern Chios, a village where time, seasons and space somehow loose their meaning and news from the outer world never reach you. The bench accompanying the lonely tree overlooks nothing in particular, just a plain, barren field, yet it’s the perfect place to lose yourself and to be lost for a while.

This is one of my very first attempts at infrared photography. I hadn’t dared to take a picture of this tree before because sometimes a shot doesn’t capture a memory; it just destroys it if it fails to capture its essence. When I saw how infrared filters work I though that it was the only way to capture the unreal quality of this place.

I took one exposure without the filter and one with it so that I could use the original shot to mask the bench over the infrared photo thus keeping its bright red color. ~Mary Kay

5 Responses to “Inspirations – Relax by Mary Kay”

  1. The lines, the colors, and that bench, despite your description of reality, I want to sit on that bench.

  2. Wayne Elliott Says:

    I like the mood of the image, the darkened sky and brighter tree reminds me of summer storms where the sun is out until almost the last minute. The coloured bench as the main subject adds mystery and suggests a story that the viewer can develop for themselves. Good eye and well done.

    Cheers,

    Wayne

  3. Rosaleen Says:

    Hi
    I have been trying my hand at IR, but dont seem to get it right……..it is the post processing that baffles me………..I use the Hoya IR filter too. Thanks

  4. What a clever eye to envision this scene as an IR possibility. Well done!

  5. I love it ! It is a wow picture for me .

    Elisacanada

Leave a Reply

