The Weekly Photo – April 18

The photo below is a ‘shift-stitch’ using my Canon 17mm TS-E lens taken on the March 2011 Winter Photo Tour. I had the camera in portrait orientation and then shifted the lens down to include more foreground and then shifted the lens up to see more sky. The two photos were then layered together in Photoshop. This location is the Glory Hole (named by Daryl Benson) in Jasper National Park which is a great sunrise (this photo) or sunset location at any time of the year. I am just putting the finishing touches on my photographer’s guide to Jasper National Park which will be released in early May on the How to Photograph the Canadian Rockies website. In it will be details on where, when and how to photograph the Glory Hole!

©Darwin Wiggett

14 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – April 18”

  1. You may need to slap an 18+ rating on the cover.

  2. Toni Aull Says:

    Awesome Photo!

  3. Darwin, this shot is exquisite. The clarity, depth of field and mood is perfect. Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Great shot.
    How sharp really is the 17mm? From your photograph it look tack sharp especially the foreground with the snow.

    I can appreciate the value of a TS-E lens. I use a 17-40mm (non-TS-E) and I sometimes wish I had the option of changing the focus plane.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • The 17mm TS-E is stunningly sharp and with the tilt control you can make images that are crazy sharp from inches away to infinity. the 17-40mm lens at 17 looks like a ‘lens baby’ compared to the 17 TS-E. I can’t imagine ever going back to using the 17-40mm lens!

      Darwin

  5. Connie Jensen Says:

    Darwin!! this is simply stunning- yes, crazy sharp!!! beautiful light, composition- this has it all!! breathtaking !!! And I appreciate reading all your comments – very helpful:)
    All the best to you!
    Connie

  6. Carrie Bradley Says:

    Darwin, that is a totally awesome photo! I read your instructional article about Sky Stitches on your website and I have a few questions. 1) You have the advantage of having a tilt shift lens so everything is on an even plane when you shift. If I use my standard lens at 17mm, will I get a warped stitched image (harder for the software to stitch)? 2) You write that it is better to not include things like trees extending into the sky in the first foreground picture (harder to stich align) later. I notice in your finished result you managed excellent stitching even though trees are extended there. What is your secret? 3) I understand that you must first expose for the foreground shot. When you tilt up and take the “sky shot”, of course the exposure will change because of the bright sky…….. – do you manually have to dial in the exposure you got for the foreground photo and use a ND filter? Or, do you take the photo with the actual metered exposure of the sky and also use a ND? I’m confused. 4) Did you even use ND filter’s for both shots before stitching? This was not a simple straight horizon line……some trees extend from the horizon……..whatever you did it looks exceptional. Thanks.

    • Hi Carrie, if you use a standard 17mm things will warp as you tilt the lens down to see the foreground and tilt the lens up to see the sky. You could do this shot with the standard 17mm by tilting the lens down to get the foreground you want but be sure the trees in the background are not cropped off. Include at least 20% sky above the trees. Take the photo. Now tilt the lens up to include more sky, take the photo (same exposure). Now extend the canvas in photoshop of the first image, add the sky from the second image and blend the photos in the sky area above the trees.

      The secret to being able to include the trees into the sky is to only use the trees from one of the photos but not both, or use a tilt-shift lens where the trees will align perfectly in both photos!

      I used no filters on this shot because the Canon 17mm TS-E is almost impossible to filter.

      I took 4 photos and blended them together. I exposed two images of the foreground (one exposed for the foreground and one exposed for the bit of sky included in the frame. I manually blended these tow photos into one exposure. Then I took two photos of the sky at the same exposure settings for the foreground photos and blended those two photos the same way so the sky and the bit of foreground in that photo were evenly blended. Then I took the two resulting blends (foreground and sky) and merged them into one file using Photo Merge in Photoshop.

      Done.

      d

  7. Chantelle Says:

    Beautiful photo! I don’t know whether or not you’re aware, but this post is appearing word-for-word, including this photo, on http://learnlife.info/ (this particular post is at http://learnlife.info/?p=427) without referencing this original post or your name.

    I’m a fellow blogger and the person who owns the learnlife.info domain has copied and pasted my posts on another of his sites. I found your post while checking to be sure that my posts weren’t appearing anywhere else.

    • Thanks Chantelle for the heads up, interesting how people think they can just grab whatever they see on the internet and use it freely – at least they copyrighted the image to me rather than claiming it was theirs! Darwin

  8. […] The Weekly Photo – April 18 (via Darwin Wiggett) Posted on April 21, 2011 by thespiritportal The photo below is a 'shift-stitch' using my Canon 17mm TS-E lens taken on the March 2011 Winter Photo Tour. I had the camera in portrait orientation and then shifted the lens down to include more foreground and then shifted the lens up to see more sky. The two photos were then layered together in Photoshop. This location is the Glory Hole (named by Daryl Benson) in Jasper National Park which is a great sunrise (this photo) or sunset location at … Read More […]

  9. Dawin, this is an incredible image, but it drives me nuts. I keep wanting to zoom in to take up that wonderfull detail!

    Sam

Leave a Reply

