Inspirations – Davisburg Community Church by Kevin McElheran

© Kevin McElheran

Canon 5dMII, 24 – 70 2.8, ISO 200, 30 seconds, f2.8, AV mode

Night photography or photographing images with little or no light has intrigued me for some time and the moment to photograph the Davisburg Community Church south east of Calgary, Alberta came this very early foggy morning. Being on a self assignment to photograph in thick fog, the conditions were right and with my attention given to the weather forecast, the predictions for heavy fog for the southern area of Calgary and beyond was high so I was ready and out the door by 5 AM.

Always ready for wet conditions, this fog was much like rain as just 10 minutes in it, you’re soaking wet so it’s with these conditions in mind, I have “Rain Sleeves” with me which completely covers the camera and lens in a clear fitted plastic bag. Once I set up the composition for this shot, the camera was locked on burst mode with my remote cable to take shots every 30 seconds. Once focus was obtained and locked, I ran up to the church and lit it up by a small LED light which I waved around. ~ Kevin McElheran

5 Responses to “Inspirations – Davisburg Community Church by Kevin McElheran”

  1. Anil Sud Says:

    That’s a hauntingly eerie image…great capture, Kevin!

  2. Anil Sud Says:

    That’s a hauntingly eerie image…great capture Kevin!

  3. Love the color you captured! Night photography is one of my favorites, but I haven’t spent enough time with it! Great job at getting out there and dealing with the fog!

  4. Haunting image…

  5. This is gorgeous! Seems almost otherworldly.

Leave a Reply

