Inspirations – Drowned Trees by Marc Ward

© Marc Ward

Nikon D300 Tokina 12-24 @ 24mm 1/50 sec @ f/20 ISO 250
with a B&W Circular Polarizer

This image was taken about 2 miles from my house in East Tennessee on Douglas Lake. I was on my way home when I saw this fabulous cloud formation taking shape over the Great Smoky Mountains. I drove down to the lake access and was rewarded with this stunning cloud and its reflection on the water. We had received large amounts of spring rains and the lake was up over its banks leaving these trees a bit stranded. I was particularly lucky that the shape of the trees echoed the shape of the cloud. The event lasted about 30 minutes and then high altitude winds blew the top off this guy. ~ Marc Ward

4 Responses to “Inspirations – Drowned Trees by Marc Ward”

  1. Nice photo, I like the cloud formation. Very inspiring!

  2. I like the symmetry in the sky and in the water, well done!

  3. This is just such a great composition. Foreground, midground, and background elements all working together. And the shape of that cloud is just perfect!

  4. John Harder Says:

    I like the ying yang effect the water gives the cloud. Cool shot!

Leave a Reply

