Inspirations – A Contrario by Serhan Oksay

© Serhan Oksay

Canon 30D Canon 18-200mm Focal Length: 60mm
Exposure Mode: Manual 1/30 secs f/13.0 ISO:100

This was an inexperienced model from Ukraine who had never done an artistic nude before. The model was so shy that I decided to start the session behind a piece of blue chiffon to warm her up. I described her how to pose behind the cloth and advised to stand close to foreground as much as possible (see image below). I used two studio flashes with a softbox and back lit the scene. One big studio fan was working from my right hand side to make sure that the chiffon sticks to her face and the rest ripples so that I could capture a dynamic, exciting photograph. I had the luxury of using three assistants: two for holding the cloth, one for controlling the fan and moving the flash around.

© Serhan Oksay

In the post processing (with PS CS5) I drew the usual levels-unsharp-contrast triangle then desaturated to lose the blue tinge and add a touch of b/w feeling. I also added Topaz filter “adjust 4 dramatic” to stress the texture of the cloth.

I have named the photo “a contrario” meaning “from a contrary position”. ~ Serhan Oksay

One Response to “Inspirations – A Contrario by Serhan Oksay”

  1. This is a very good way to get the model warmed up! Nice image taken!

Leave a Reply

