The First 17mm Tilt-Shift shots

I have been testing Canon’s new 17mm tilt-shift lens. I figured I would have absolutely no use for this lens because it is nearly impossible to filter… but like always, my preconceptions have proven me wrong! More on that in a future post.

This lens is really fun with a super wide 17mm field of view but with the ability to correct perspective and to tilt for infinite depth-of-field at the same time. I have been using tilt-shift lenses for years in my landscape photography but to be able to add a super-wide lens is really exciting. I also really love the ability to rotate tilt and shift independantly in this lens.

One of my pet peeves of using a wide-angle lens is the distortion you get when pointing the lens up or down; trees fall over, buildings lean in – in short the world looks wonky. In the photo below, I had to point the camera and lens up to take in this view of an aspen grove. As expected, I got wide angle distorion with leaning trees:

17mm with no perspective correction

17mm with no perspective correction

To correct perspective I simply kept the camera back level to the trees and shifted the lens up to take in the aspen grove. The result is a wide angle view but without the leaning trees:

17mm lens perspective corrected

17mm lens perspective corrected

In the next photo of Johnson Lake in Banff I used the shift feature to give me an image wider than 17mm. I made two images; one of the clouds and mountains, and then another of the rocky foreground. I simply shifted my lens up and down to record both views and then in post-production I placed the two components together into one frame.
Two image stitch using shift

Two image stitch using shift

In the image below I took two verticals images by shifting the lens left and right to make a square finished image. This photo was taken in the serac of the Columbia Icefields. I highly recommend an Ice Walk anytime you are in the Icefields area
Two vertical shifts stitched together

Two vertical shifts stitched together

In the next image, I took two vertical images; one shifted left, and one right. I then made a big square of image of this scene of Bow Lake in Banff. I also tilted for great depth-of-field across the scene from the small rock in the foreground to the mountain in the backdrop.
Two verticals made using shift and tilt for DOF

Two verticals made using shift and tilt for DOF

The next image I tilted for maximum depth-of-field and shifted the lens down to correct perspective so that the trees did not lean in.
Tilt for DOF, shift for perspective control

Tilt for DOF, shift for perspective control

Stay tuned for a complete article on this lens in terms of sharpness, performance, and flare control but for now look at this last photo of Abraham Lake with this ultrawide lens. No wide angle distortion at all! How refreshing.
Tilted for DOF

Tilted for DOF

8 Responses to “The First 17mm Tilt-Shift shots”

  1. […] 1 votes vote The First 17mm Tilt-Shift shots I have been testing Canon’s new 17mm tilt-shift lens. I figured I would have absolutely no […]

  2. It’s nice to have those lens movements in 35mm lenses. Since the front lens element of that 17mm bulges out so far and of coarse, it has a build on lens hood, I guess we can forget about using those wonderful Singh-Ray filters with that lens unless someone invents some type of gadget that can somehow attach to the lens and allow filters to be used. I guess those sunset and sunrise shots will have to be done using HDR. It’s good that you gave us some examples on how you use the lens. I just have to win the lottery first before I can afford it.

    Dennis

  3. Great article Darwin. Just another lens that sparks my interest.

  4. Hi Darwin.

    Thanks for the technical inspiration!
    I loved to see what this lens can do for a landscape shooter as I`ve been thinking about buying this lens.
    Didn`t know the versatility of the lens before you gave us these thorough examples.
    Now I know that this the is a lens I want…sounds almost as perky as “all I want for Christmas is my two front teeth” 🙂

    Well, I guess I will wait for a detailed review.
    Too bad about the physical shape of the glass though.
    It is definitely a work flow limitation when used to filters in the field.

    Take care, Darwin.

    Seung Kye

  5. Now I’m tempted to get into a Canon system just for that lens (and/or maybe the 24mm version).

    It would bring a little of the 4×5 flavor into slr shooting.

    I love the idea of the easy double-frame stitching for square or pano images.

  6. Fascinating to see what you can do with the tilt shift lens!

  7. Darwin the Bow lake shot is fantastic !!

    I’ve been doing a lot of reading on TS lens for the last couple of years and just read your recent magazine article about them.

    it’s interesting that you got the 17mm to work without filters, I was looking at that lens lately and wondering how well it would work.
    Your shots clearly show that it works very well indeed.
    thanks again for the informative Blog,there is always well written material to help photographers.

    regards,

    Evan Spellman

  8. Thanks for the very informative article on canon 17mm tilt and shift lens. I am currently using 17-40, f/4 lens for my wide shots. The image of “Abraham Lake” is so pleasing to see without any distortion. You have ignited a spark in me to go for this lens. Let me start saving from now on .

Leave a comment