Yellowknife Photo Tour Results

On Oct 31 Samantha Chrysanthou and I led a field workshop in Yellowknife NWT. We had six enthusiastic photographers who happily spent the day photographing everything from sunrise over Slave Lake to light painting abandoned mining equipment. Below are six shots from some of the participating photographers. More images to follow once all the participants process their images. Comments appreciated!

Dave Brosha

Dave1

©Dave Brosha

Dave2

©Dave Brosha

Dave3

©Dave Brosha

Dave4

©Dave Brosha

Dave5

©Dave Brosha

Dave6

©Dave Brosha

Lee Sacrey

Lee1

©Lee Sacrey

Lee2

©Lee Sacrey

Lee3

©Lee Sacrey

Lee4

©Lee Sacrey

Lee5

©Lee Sacrey

Lee6

©Lee Sacrey

Carmelita Allen

Carmelita1

©Carmelita Allen

Carmelitabitinghorse

©Camelita Allen

CamerlitaStatue

©Carmelita Allen

Carmelita4

©Carmelita Allen

Carmelita5

©Carmelita Allen

Carmelita6

©Carmelita Allen

Nigel Fearon

more images from Nigel from the photo outing are here

Nigel1

©Nigel Fearon

Nigel2

©Nigel Fearon

Nigel3

©Nigel Fearon

Nigel4

©Nigel Fearon

Nigel5

©Nigel Fearon

Nigel6

©Nigel Fearon

Conrad Esteban

Conrad1

©Conrad Esteban

Conrad3

©Conrad Esteban

Conrad4

©Conrad Esteban

Conrad5

©Conrad Esteban

Conrad8

©Conrad Esteban

Conrad11

©Conrad Esteban

 Andrea Nilson

Andrea1

Andrea Nilson

andrea2

Andrea Nilson

Andrea3

Andrea Nilson

Andrea4

Andrea Nilson

Andrea5

Andrea Nilson

Andrea6

Andrea Nilson

23 Responses to “Yellowknife Photo Tour Results”

  1. From the photos it looks like it was a fun day with such a variety of photographic subjects. Everybody did such nice work. I look forward to seeing more.

  2. Are we going to get to see everyone’s critique? I think it would be very interesting!

  3. Hi Darwin,

    I looked over the images. I see nothing I would consider keepers. it seems many beginning photographers have problems with composition. It is my opinion when learning photography, one should learn the rules first and then experiment. I would assume that is the way you learned to be a great photographer. There is a common theme to put the subject in the middle of the frame. There has been a lot of research done into the way the human eye sees and the evidence points to the fact that this is not pleasing to the eye. However, a skilled photographer can break the rules and still produce excellent photographs.

    David Lilly

    • Hi David, Wow you must ave some high standards if you could not even find one keeper among these photos 😉

      I would be proud to have several of the images posted here.

      You are right though, composition is the most overlooked and under studied aspect of photography

      If people are interested in looking at your photos here is the link: http://www.davidlillyphotography.ca

    • Carmelita Allen Says:

      Spiker5,
      You are quite correct composition is important. The focal point of a photo or piece of art should not be in the center. It is NOT a ramdom spot somewhere else in the frame. Its exact location can be mathematically calculated using the Golden Ratio.
      Carmelita

    • Stan Holdfield Says:

      Hi David,

      I looked over your website. I see nothing I would consider keepers. it seems many pretentious photographers have problems with arrogance. It is my opinion when learning photography, one should not judge others harshly to create the illusion that you are better. Learn how to help others, and then critique constructively. I would assume that is the way you learned to be a pretentious photographer. There is a common theme to think you know everything because you have been taking the same boring photos for years. There has been a lot of research done into the way the humans can recognize the difference between pretending to be better than everyone, and actually being better. The evidence points to the fact that you are not a photographic expert. However, a skilled photographer can break the rules and still not be a totally presumptuous jerk.

      Also, have you thought about taking landscapes with straight skylines? Perhaps you should look into one of those bubble-level tripods. Your Newfoundland gallery was really quite atrocious.

  4. What is a “keeper”? Is it something somebody else like or something “I” like?

    • Conrad, A keeper is something you like and think is worth keeping. It really does not matter a bit what others think. Photography is personal expression, if you are happy with what you produced, then you have done well. For what it is worth if your images were in my camera, I would keep them all. Darwin

  5. Hi Again Darwin,

    I should have mentioned in my last comment Photography is a personal expression. However, if you are selling your photos you might find you have to photograph in a more traditional ( by the rules) to sell.

    If you can find a large following who like your style them you have true success.

    David

  6. Hi Darwin,

    Thanks again for coming to Yellowknife for the third time this year, we love have you come to the north. Both Samantha’s and your critiques of my photos will be a great help to me in the future. You always can provide positive feedback which becomes quite a learn tool for others. Also, when explaining some of the issues with the photos, you were able to do so in a way which also help others learn without having to upset or belittle our abilities. Great job. I have a few comments for others;

    Nigel, I would like to hear what you have to say about my photos. Darwin, Samantha and Dave Brosha have all commented and I will gladly show you what was said. Drop me an e-mail and we can get together to go over them.

    David Lilly, wow, it is interesting the comments we get from others. I don’t consider myself anywhere near a professional level photographer but, a lot of the things we were shooting at the workshop was outside the comfort level of the photographers. For me it was about learning new areas of photography. I tried to photograph things I normally would even consider and looked forward to hear what others had to say to make me better at the craft. Darwin and Samantha gave me that opportunity. I see from your website that you offer workshops to others, based on your comments hear I can see I made a good choice in who I do workshop with. I doubt I would learn much from such negative views from an instructor. I have looked at your website and I like quite a few of your photographs, nice work. If you are interested my website is http://www.leesacreyphotography.com

    Darwin, thank you for show me were I can improve. I look forward to attend more workshops with you in the future. You are a gift to us who have a lot to learn and that appears to be rare.

    Lee

    • Lee, I would like to hear your critique of my photos.
      (Don’t worry about the grammar, I can decipher everything.)

  7. Sorry for the grammar issues. My editor (wife) was sleeping when I wrote my reply, lol.

  8. It is always a fascinating study to take a group of photographers and place them in the same location to see what comes out. Each with different visions and experiences. One of the best aspects of workshops in my opinion. This appeared to be both productive and fun.

  9. Excellent stuff Darwin and Sam (and workshop participants!). From a professional standpoint, there were several here that immediately caught my eye. It’s challenging to produce good images in a short time frame, but I think the participants did a really good job with a broad range of subject material.

  10. […] Tour – Results I got numerous emails from blog readers thanking me for posting the Yellowknife Workshop results. It seems people love to see what kind of images are made on photo tours and […]

  11. Surfed_on_over Says:

    I just surfed on over to David Lilly’s site. Did not see any keepers there either…

  12. Hi Again Dawin,

    Keepers are a matter of personal choice. It is funny no one seen any keepers on my website, thats fine.

    However, people are willing to pay me, so when you sell your photographs let me know.

    David lilly

    • David,

      As a pro that you say you are, you should keep reading Stan Holdfield’s reply to your previous comment.

      C

    • Wow, this has certainly turned into something more then I expected. I sent 6 photos that I thought needed to be critiqued so I could improve as an amateur photographer. Thank you darwin and Samantha and others from the event for your helpful comments. I guess next time I will try and send better photos. David as for your comment about selling photographs. I am pretty sure Darwin has sold a few before now. I see his stuff regularly. However, I haven’t seen yours and as I stated before I liked quite a few from your site but, as you implied by your comments, what do I know about good photographs. I bet anyone who has read the comments posted here will think twice before hiring you for some instruction. I am not sure what happened to make you such a bitter person but, I am sorry for whoever or whatever caused you to be such an ass.

  13. Whew-weee! This thread is heating up! Funny enough, I have some thoughts on this subject over at samsrant. David, whether you meant it or not, your comments come across as arrogant and dismissive. It matters how you say things, not just what you say.

  14. Hi Again Darwin,

    I was just trying to make you guys think about your images.

    David

  15. Here are some of my keepers. I photographed these photographs today.

    http://www.davidlillyphotography.ca

Leave a comment