The Weekly Photo – March 14, 2011

Last week I posted a telephoto image of a really cool mountain shadow in the clouds over Mount Michener. This week I thought I would show the wide angle version of the same shadow with Abraham Lake and Mount Michener in context. I shot this image with my Canon EOS-1ds Mark III and the Canon 17mm TS-E lens at 1/320s at f11. I shifted the lens slightly up and down to get more sky and foreground than a single frame would allow. Click on the photo to see a bigger version of the photo on my website.

 

©Darwin Wiggett

7 Responses to “The Weekly Photo – March 14, 2011”

  1. That shadow is extraordinary! I think I like this version, which puts it into context, better. On the other hand, I also like the close up version too…

  2. Fabulous image, Darwin… We noticed that shadow as we were leaving the lake – it’s great that you stayed and captured such an interesting shot – I also like this version best.

  3. Spectacular……. I wish I would of followed the golden rule that day….. Follow Darwin. I will forever regret not stopping to take a photo of that shadow. We where on our way back to the lodge when we spotted it. We debated stopping but I was grumpy because of my fogged lens, broken cable release and frozen tripod. What a one of a kind photo, great job Darwin.

  4. I like how the texture in the foreground snow echoes the shape of the mountain.

  5. Love the converging diagonals… and that shadow is sweet! Great shot!

  6. Wow, Interesting reflection in the sky. I can see so many triangles, small ones to large ones in this photo.

Leave a Reply

